Top Ten Tuesday [#40]

bi-weekly-wrap-up-6

Random Quote of the Day: “Our feelings are our most genuine paths to knowledge.” – Audre Lorde

Hello sunshines! 🔆 Happy Tuesday! This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book. As always if you have as much as I do with this post, feel free to link me to your posts! (:

AESTHETICALLY PLEASING COVERS

I think we can all agree that cover lust is a thing, and sometimes we pick up a novel off the shelves just because the cover catches our eyes — and if you say you haven’t thought this before then you are a liar are such a great person.

SOMEONE RECOMMENDS THE BOOK TO ME

Now this doesn’t happen with just anyone — I know a few bloggers here and there that have similar book-tastes to me. When they recommend novels to me, I look into them and usually end up adding it to my TBR. It isn’t an insta-buy, but I do want to read it.

MY FAVORITE AUTHORS BLURBS IT

If I see that Nicola Yoon, John Green, or Jennifer Niven blurbs a novel then there is a 99% chance that I will look into the novel with a 98% chance that I’ll actually buy it. They don’t even have to have a blurb; if they promote it on social media or even mention a novel, you better believe that I am adding it to my TBR.

MENTION OF MENTAL ILLNESS

You guys all know (or should know by now) that I am always looking for ways to expand my knowledge about mental illnesses. Therefore I am drawn to novels that have this aspect, no matter the author or form of illness. I am interested in the different representations of mental illnesses as well.

DIVERSITY

I can’t say that I’ve always went out of my way to find Diverse novels, but now that I have I can’t stop adding them to my TBR! They are so many great ones coming out (or have come out) this 2017 and it makes me super duper excited!!

line

One day I will continuously reach a list of ten things!! But for now, those are five insta-read situations! I would love to see what makes you want to read a novel, so definitely link me to your posts in the comments! I probably could’ve listed a few more, but my brain is fried. Anyways, Happy Tuesday, again!! 😁

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

 

si86578

9 Comments

Filed under Top10T

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday [#40]

  1. hehe yes, let’s be honest, everyone is wooed by a pretty cover 😉 Love this list!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list, pretty covers are my downfall. As someone who has struggled with mental health issues and is training to become a mental health nurse I definitively need to read more mental health related books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. if someone tells me a book is diverse as has accurate rep I’m 100% gonna pick up that book. if someone tells me there is a bisexual or/and biracial mc I’m like YES LOVE ME SOME SELF REP! (in my head, I usually respond with something chill like ‘cool I’ll check it out’)
    whenever I buy books I always try to get the one with the prettiest cover bc I live for the aesthetic
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

