Book Review | Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

bi-weekly-wrap-up-21Random Quote of the Day: “First keep the peace within yourself, then you can also bring peace to others.” – Thomas a Kempis

84875216-a4ff-42d4-965b-27b4b391dc21

Title: Girl in Pieces

Author(s): Kathleen Glasgow

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Page Count: 416

Published: August 30th, 2016

Format: Hardback

Source: Sent in Exchange for Honest Review via Blogging for Books

BUY HERE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.”

Before Reading Thoughts.png

I was really excited to read GIP because I had heard pretty good things about it, and how it has been compared with Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (a novel I thoroughly enjoyed). So when I saw it on BFB I had to request it! (:

before-reading-thoughts-1

|| The Feels: 4/5 || Characters: 3.5/5 || Character Development: 4/5 || Plot: 3.5/5 || Interest: 3.85/5 || Writing: 4.5/5 || Narration: 4/5 || Flow of Reading: 4.5/5 ||Ending: 4/5

Want a more in depth review? Keep reading!

🗯 From the start, the reader is immediately grasped into Charlie’s experiences and life in general. Charlie is a 17 year old, dark, extremely expressive MC who is dealing with mental illness, and as a reader I was really about to understand and sort of resonate with her as she described her time in the mental hospital. I won’t go into the resonation part since it’s pretty personal, but just know that I understood. I will admit that at some point I was a little disturbed as the visuals that the writing enhanced was triggering. This novel is definitely not for anyone that has dealt with suicide, abuse, rape, etc. as it discusses these topics heavily, but as always, you are welcomed to read anything you’d like.

“…when I look at my arms, I don’t think revolutionary. I think sad, and pain, but not revolutionary.”

🗯 Glasgow’s novel was sectioned in small “chapters” consisting of less than a paragraph to sometimes a few pages each. I personally enjoy novels such as these as I read a bit quicker, and I think since it was in a first person POV, it was easier to read. There were some areas in the middle of the novel that I felt were a bit “dragged out” and the author wasn’t quite getting to the point, but as I look back on that maybe it was intentional(?)

🗯 The introduction of the minor characters were quite interesting, as they each had something unique to bring to the plot. However, it got to a point where I forgot which character was which because there were some many xD It didn’t help that Charlie was vague when describing these characters and she went back and forth between the past and present day. With that being said, some relationships were hard to follow while others progressed the story.

“I think, Charlie, you have talent. I do. But I don’t think you’ll get far until you examine yourself and study. Until you let yourself be your subject. That’s the exquisiteness of youth: you are allowed the luxury of vanity, of self-examination. Take it! Don’t be ashamed of yourself.”

🗯 I read books like these to gain better insight about mental illnesses, and I think Glasgow all together did an amazing job. While I did get bored occasionally, the structure and writing style was comprehensible and the rawness and true concepts embedded were seemingly honest. Glasgow’s Author’s Note pretty much explained the inspiration for this novel, and I thought that was inspiring. Here’s an excerpt of it:

“Years ago, I did not want to write this story.
Years ago, on the city bus, making notes for another story I was writing, I glanced up when I felt someone slide into the seat next to me. I planned to give her only the most perfunctory of glances and go back to my notes, but then my breath caught in my throat.
She had skin like mine. Feeling my eyes on her, she hastily slid down her sleeve, cloaking her thin, fresh red scars from view.
I can’t tell you how much I wanted to pull up my own sleeves and say, “I’m just like you! Look! You are not alone.”
But I didn’t. Frankly, I was unnerved by her. After years of wearing long shirts, hiding what I had done to myself, in the hopes that I could “have a life,” I found myself reeling back to when I was at the very depths of myself, more alone than I have ever been in my life.
Years ago, I didn’t want to write the story of my scars, or the story of being a girl with scars, because it is hard enough being a girl in the world, but try being a girl with scars on your skin in the world.
I let that girl get off the bus without saying a word. And I shouldn’t have. I should have let her know that even mired in the very depths of herself, she wasn’t alone.
Because she’s not.

You are not alone. Charlie Davis’s story is the story of over two million young women in the United States. And those young women will grow up, like I did, bearing the truth of our past on our bodies.
I wrote the story of Charlie Davis for the cutters and the burners and the kids on the street who have nowhere safe to sleep. I wrote the story of Charlie Davis for their mothers and fathers and for their friends.
Charlie Davis finds her voice, and her solace, in drawing. I find mine in writing. What’s your solace? Do you know? Find it and don’t stop doing it, ever. Find your people (because you need to talk), your tribe, your reason to be, and I swear to you, the other side will emerge, slowly but surely. It’s not always sunshine and roses over here, and sometimes the dark can get pretty dark, but it’s filled with people who understand, and just enough laughter to soften the edges and get you through the next day.”

🗯 If that’s not the best Author’s Note you’ve read, then I don’t know what is! This novel deals with one of the most serious topics ever, and I commend Glasgow for representing the bad, good, and even happy side of it all. Charlie was one of most three-dimensional characters I’ve ever read about, and I am happy that I’ve gotten the chance to read about one’s survival. This is not your average ‘recovery” story, and Girl In Pieces will definitely help anyone understand the entirety.

“I remember the stars that night. They were like salt against the sky, like someone spilled the shaker against very dark cloth. That mattered to me, their accidental beauty.”

 THE ULTIMATE VERDICT

Image result for 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

si86578
6 Comments

Filed under Book Review

6 responses to “Book Review | Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

  1. Lovely review! Been wanting to read this, and you’ve convinced me even more that I need to read it! I especially like the idea of the short chapters. It makes it seem quicker to read 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg nice review!! Short chapters well done are always nice and looks like you’ve been enjoying it so far :D-Trang

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My First Book Haul of 2017! | -- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

Leave a Reply

