Top Ten Tuesday [#35]

bi-weekly-wrap-up-6

Random Quote of the Day: “When real people fall down in life, they get right back up and keep on walking.” – Michael Patrick King

Hello sunshines & HAPPY VALENTINES DAY (if you don’t have a Valentine, you do now!! *wink*)! ☀ It’s been a while since I’ve posted a TTT post, but what better to celebrate the holiday than to talk about YA Contemporary’s That I Want To Love (when I read it, of course)!

💗 YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE by Whitney Gardner

💗 THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice. Movie rights have been sold to Fox, with Amandla Stenberg (The Hunger Games) to star.

💗 THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE by Jandy Nelson

💗 EVERY DAY by David Levithan

I wake up. Immediately, I have to figure out who I am. It’s not just the body – opening my eyes and discovering whether the skin on my arm is light or dark, whether my hair is long or short, whether I’m fat or thin, boy or girl, scarred or smooth. The body is the easiest thing to adjust to, if you’re used to waking up in a new one each morning. It’s the life, the context of the body, that can be hard to grasp. Every day I am someone else. I am myself – I know I am myself – but I am also someone else. It has always been like this.”

💗 WHY WE BROKE UP by Daniel Handler

💗 WHAT LIGHT by Jay Asher

“Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other. Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other. By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.”

💗 SAINT ANYTHING by Sarah Dessen

💗 THE FIRST TIME SHE DROWNED by Kerry Kletter

Cassie O’Malley has been trying to keep her head above water—literally and metaphorically—since birth. It’s been two and a half years since Cassie’s mother dumped her in a mental institution against her will, and now, at eighteen, Cassie is finally able to reclaim her life and enter the world on her own terms. But freedom is a poor match against a lifetime of psychological damage. As Cassie plumbs the depths of her new surroundings, the startling truths she uncovers about her own family narrative make it impossible to cut the tethers of a tumultuous past. And when the unhealthy mother-daughter relationship that defined Cassie’s childhood and adolescence threatens to pull her under once again, Cassie must decide: whose version of history is real? And more important, whose life must she save?”

💗 ENTER TITLE HERE by Rahul Kanakia

💗 UNDER ROSE-TAINTED SKIES by Louise Gornall

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed. But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees. Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?”

Related image

Image result for black history month tumblrAnd those are some (definitely not ALL) of the YA Contemporaries That I Want To Love when I get to them! We all know I am a major Contemporary fan, so feel free to recommend some of your favorites, or even better, link me to YOUR TTT post! ❤

I hope you all have a safe and loving Valentines Day! (:

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

si86578

5 Comments

Filed under Top10T

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday [#35]

  1. I’m super stoked for The Hate U Give. I feel like I have a lot of love for that book even though I haven’t read it yet. I’ve heard really good things about The First Time She Drowned as well, but didn’t get a chance to pick it up last year. I hope you fall in love with all of these reads!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Month of Love | February BWWU | -- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

Leave a Reply

