Book Review | The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

bi-weekly-wrap-up-21

Random Fact of the Day: Over one million stray dogs live in the New York City metropolitan area.

Title: The Wolf Road

Author(s): Beth Lewis

Genre: Fiction, Thriller, Mystery

Page Count: 352

Published: July 5th, 2016

Format: Hardback

Source: Sent in Exchange for Honest Review via Blogging for Books

BUY HERE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Image resultTrue Grit meets The Road in this postapocalyptic psychological thriller–narrated by a young girl who has just learned that her adopted father may be a serial killer, and that she may be his next victim.

In the remote wilds of a ravaged land, Elka has been raised by a man who isn’t her father. Since finding her wandering in the woods when she was seven, he has taught her how to hunt, shoot, set snares and start fires–everything she needs to survive. All she knows of the world outside is gleaned from whispers of a cataclysmic event that turned the clock back on civilization by a hundred and fifty years and reduced governments and technology to shambles, leaving men at the mercy of the elements–and each other.

Everything changes when Elka learns that the man she has been calling father is harboring a terrible secret. Armed with nothing but her knife and her wiles, she decides to escape his clutches and sets out on a long journey to the frozen north in the hope of finding her long-lost parents.

But as the trail of blood and bodies grows in her path, Elka realizes that daddy won’t be letting his little girl go without a fight. If she’s going to survive, she’ll have to turn and confront not just him, but the truth about what he’s turned her into.”

IMG_0730

I was honestly a little hesitant, but I haven’t read a mystery/thriller in a LONG time, so I was excited to get to it.

IMG_0727

|| The Feels: 3/5 || Emotions: Excited, Thrilled, Bored || Characters: 4/5 || Character Development: 4/5 || Plot: 4/5 || Interest: 3.5/5 || Writing: 4/5 || Narration: 4/5 || Flow of Reading: 4.5/5 ||Ending: 4/5

Want a more in depth review? Keep reading!

IMG_0728

Since I’ve gotten so prone to writing list reviews, I thought I’d do that for this one. I’m also deciding to form a list because I read this book over a span of a few months, so I don’t really remember every small detail (my fault).

MY DISLIKES:

  • I was a little bored in the beginning. I found myself waiting for the thrilled sensation or the mystery aspect. That emotion didn’t arise until maybe…50 pages in?
  • Regarding the boredom, I think if Lewis compacted the story a little bit, that would’ve saved me from skimming some of the pages. Don’t get me wrong, there were some interesting parts, but sometimes I found that the repetitiveness and prolonged events were unnecessary.

MY LIKES:

  • This book is extremely dark and I found in some cases, I had to stop to regain my thoughts. Lewis has fantastic writing skills, and I think this tied in with our main character, Elka, as well.

“Monsters ain’t real ‘cept in kids’ imaginations, under the beds, in the closets. We live in a world a’ men and there ain’t no good come out of tellin’ them they monsters. Makes ’em think they ain’t done nothin’ wrong, that it’s their nature and they can’t do nothin’ to change that. Callin’ ’em a monster makes ’em somethin’ different from the rest of us, but they ain’t. They just men, flesh and bone and blood. Bad’uns, truth, but men all the same.”

  • Elka is such a well-developed character who is narrating the story in first person. Now, I was a little hesitant with this part because I don’t typically read first-person novels, however this aspect was definitely a positive.
  • Compelling, unusual characters, and easy to read writing — like mentioned before, it wasn’t extremely difficult for me to be invested into the plot and characters. I love Elka — she was literally tough as nails (maybe even tougher), and her relationship with other characters was in some cases, humorous.

“Anyone what tells you they don’t like bacon is either stupid or lying. Either way that ain’t no one you can trust. Penelope”

Related image

rating So what’s the ultimate verdict?

I gave Beth Lewis’, The Wolf Road, a…

4 out of 5 stars

I definitely recommend this novel to anyone looking for a dark, fast-paced read. Beth Lewis is an author that I want to read more of, so if you’ve read anything else by her I would love to know! Have you read the Wolf Road? Do you recommend any other thriller/mystery novels? Chat with me in the comments!

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

 si86578
3 Comments

Filed under Book Review

3 responses to “Book Review | The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

  1. Interesting point form review! I’ve been meaning to read this one for ages now. It really does sound like a great and dark book that I’d thoroughly enjoy. 😛

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: ‘Tis The Season to Be… | December Wrap-Up! | -- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

Leave a Reply

