Disease & Comedy? | Me And Earl And The Dying Girl by J. Andrews

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Random Fact of the Day: Diet Pepsi was originally called Patio Diet Cola.

Title: Me And Earl and the Dying Girl

Author(s): Jesse Andrews

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Page Count: 295

Published: March 1st, 2012

Format: Hardback

Source: Purchased

BUY HERE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

“Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.”

Goodreads

IMG_0730

I don’t even remember where I discovered this book (it was probably from Booktube), but I randomly decided to read it this month because I was in need of a good laugh! If there’s one thing about this book that I’ve heard continuously, it’s the fact that it’s hilarious (which it was!!!).

IMG_0727

|| The Feels: 2.5/5 || Emotions: Humour, Bored, Confused || Characters: 3/5 || Character Development: 2/5 || Plot: 3/5 || Interest: 4/5 || Writing: 4/5 || Narration: 4/5 || Flow of Reading: 4.5/5 ||Ending: 3/5

Want a more in depth review? Keep reading!

IMG_0728

I’ve decided that I won’t be writing this review like the majority of my usual reviews just because there wasn’t much “going on”…This will be explained in…

MY DISLIKES:

  • Like I said, there wasn’t a “real” plot. I felt that Andrew was talking about the same thing over and over again, and there was no real progression with the plot or characters.
  • Our narrator & protagonist, Greg Gaines, starts off by expressing how he doesn’t want to be “writing” this book…So, often I found myself asking the same thing. Why am I reading this book if he didn’t even want to write it? Yes, I did keep reading but I don’t know. Let’s just say I was hesitant.
  • Greg & the Dying Girl, Rachel, are really confusing. Their relationship just felt forced and I really didn’t understand Greg and how he cared about her but not the fact that she was dying?

“Because here’s the thing: I learned absolutely nothing from Rachel’s leukemia. In fact, I probably became stupider about life because of the whole thing.”

  • There wasn’t anything cry-worthy. Now I know you are probably asking, “how did you not cry. It’s about CANCER??!” Well, the narrator did express in the beginning how this wasn’t a cry intended novel, so I guess I can’t be THAT disappointed. But with me being sensitive & all, I was A LEAST expecting a small tear…?

MY LIKES:

  • Greg & Earl’s friendship. Their relationship was so fun to read about and that’s what really “made” the book for me. I enjoyed reading about their attempts to film-making, and Earl, in general, was the only character in my opinion that progressed throughout the novel.
  • The humour. Again, Greg & Earl’s interactions were hilarious. I do warn you, if you aren’t a fan of profanity or sexual references, then this book is definitely not for you. But me being me, this novel made me laugh more than any other book I’ve ever read.

“Earl’s default mood is Pissed, and his backup default mood is Mega-Pissed.”

  • The similar writing style to John Green’s. As you guys know (or may not know), John Green is one of my favorite authors. And I found that Andrew & Green have a similar writing style, and this makes me want to read more of Andrew’s works.
  • Andrew didn’t force the reader to feel pity towards the topic of cancer. This novel is a very light-hearted, humorous read and I appreciated that to some extent. It was a quick, easy read.
  • The different formats of writing. The book as a whole was not just paragraphs and paragraphs of text. Because Greg & Earl are “film-makers” some of the dialogue was in the format of a movie script, and this helped the novel progress & it was very interesting to read. Also, there are a lot of lists used to help Greg express his thoughts, which added to the humour element.

“INT. LIVING ROOM OF MY HOUSE – DAY

DAD is sitting in his rocking chair, contemplating the wall, as he likes to do…

EARL

How’s life, Mr. Gaines.

DAD

echoing mysteriously

Life.”

rating

                                                                                                                                                                           So what’s the ultimate verdict?

I gave Jesse Andrews’, Me and Earl and The Dying Girl, a…

Image result for 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 stars


I’m really excited to watch the film and compare it to the novel! Have you read or seen Me and Earl and the Dying Girl? Did you enjoy the humour just as much as me? Would you recommend any of Andrew’s other works? Chat with me in the comments! (:

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

 si86578
2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “Disease & Comedy? | Me And Earl And The Dying Girl by J. Andrews

  1. Hmm not that impressive huh 😕 Oh well at least I don’t have to prioritize this one 😂 Nice cute review Jess 🙂 – Trang

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

