Realistic and Cry-Worthy? | Gracie’s Song by Michelle Schlicher

IMG_2700.JPG

Random Fact of the Day: Walt Disney World generates about 120,000 pounds of garbage every day.

*REVIEW MAY INCLUDE SPOILERS. READ AT OWN RISK*

Title: Gracie’s Song

Author(s): Michelle Schlicher

Genre: Fiction, Romance

Page Count: 223

Published: 2016

Format: Paperback

Source: Sent in exchange for an honest review

BUY HERE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

“Everything can be undone.” That’s what someone tells Gracie Brannen, but she’s doubtful. After graduation, she walked away from everyone she knew with barely a word. Ten years later, she’s back. Even as familiar places and faces bring back old pain, Gracie finds hope in rebuilding old ties and forging new ones. Maybe everything can’t be undone, but perhaps everything can be overcome.

IMG_0730

One day, I was on GR just scrolling through, and I saw this novel on my recommendations list. So, always looking for recommendations, I clicked on the novel, read the synopsis, and of course some of the reviews. I thought it sounded really intriguing, so yes, I added it to my TBR. But then I kept reading more and more reviews, and I stopped and asked myself, “Should I contact this author and request a review copy???” I hesitated, but then (I guess I was feeling REALLY rebellious) I did!! Keep in mind this is my first time actually ASKING for a review copy from an author, so the fact that Schlicher was SO kind and was able to send me a signed copy was such a huge win for me 🙂 THANK YOU, MICHELLE!! ☺️

IMG_0727

|| The Feels: 4/5 || Emotions: Angst, Humour, Love || Characters: 4/5 || Character Development: 4.5/5 || Plot: 4/5 || Interest: 4/5 || Writing: 4/5 || Narration: 4/5 || Flow of Reading: 4.5/5 ||Ending: 4/5

Want a more in depth review? Keep reading!

IMG_0728

“The front desk clerk rambled on, but Gracie’s thoughts were elsewhere. She was back. After all these years she was finally back in Glenwood.”

Gracie is returning to her hometown of Glenwood after 10 years of…what?? Imagine knowing that someone that you know just…left. And you don’t know  where they went, why, how, when they’ll be back, etc. That’s basically what Gracie did to her family & friends 10 years ago, and now she is back in Glenwood. But, the thing is, we don’t know WHY. Why is Gracie returning to Glenwood after all this time?? This is the underlying question to be answered (or not answered?) throughout this entire novel, and I think that’s what ultimately made me so interested.

“Gracie didn’t say anything. Hannah didn’t know it, but she kept saying just the thing to make Gracie feel worse.”

Now although this is one of the conflicts presented in this novel, there are also minor internal and external conflicts. I love that there was enough going on in the novel that I didn’t get bored, but not too much so that I didn’t get confused. Schlicher has a great way of presenting conflicts at the right time — everything tied in together perfectly in the end.

“In that moment she felt like she has never been gone.”

With conflict in general, I like to analyze character development. And I have to say that Schlicher did an amazing job of outlining the development of Gracie. It was like…I, as the reader, was growing with Gracie and feeling what she was feeling, and I personally enjoy when I am able to do that with the main character. Gracie was almost entirely a three-dimensional character, so I was able to relate to her even though we are nowhere near the same age or have experienced the same things. The other minor characters were also very well featured and each character played some important role.

“Her heart knew the answer, but now her head told her it might finally be time to move on and to let go of Finn Miller.”

Reading about the main character and following her throughout the novel was such an emotional trainwreck that I actually never want to go through myself IRL. You learn so, so much about Gracie in the past and present, and how everything she has done/is doing is ultimately going to effect everyone else surrounding her. As secrets began to unravel, so much more happened and that’s when I really started to understand Gracie AND the other characters. Gracie’s relationship with her family (especially her sister) is so powerful and moving and there is a lot of value from this aspect.

The only issue I had with this novel was the flashbacks. I love flashbacks, especially the ones presented in this novel, but sometimes I had trouble distinguishing the difference between the past and present. Most of the time when I novel is separated into past and present, the author has some kind of indication. However, with this one there wasn’t any so I really had to pay attention to what I was reading and who I was reading about. With that being said, that is really the only problem I had with the novel. The flashbacks were such a big help and did add a lot more meaning to the novel as a whole.

“She had come a long way to get here, to find her way back…She closed her eyes and believed it: she was finally home.”

Michelle Schlicher created a wonderful novel centered around love, loss, family, and the power of oneself. Her writing was easy to read and the book held a satisfactory pace. I was thoroughly interested while reading the entire novel, and yes, I was a bit emotional at times! I had a great time reading Gracie’s Song, so thank you, again, to Michelle for writing such an amazing novel.

rating

                                                                                                                                                                           So what’s the ultimate verdict?

I gave Michelle Schlicher’s, Gracie’s Song, a…

4 out of 5 stars

Have you read Gracie’s Song? What do you think about New Adult? Chat with me in the comments!

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

si86578

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “Realistic and Cry-Worthy? | Gracie’s Song by Michelle Schlicher

  1. Pingback: BOO!! (Did I Scare You??) | October Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  2. Pingback: 2 Months Until 2017! | October Wrap-Up! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

Leave a Reply

