365 Days Later… | JBelkBooks’ One Year Blogiversary [Part 1]

FullSizeRender (91)

Random Fact of the Day: Today is JBelkBooks’ Blogiversary!!!

Hello sunshines! TODAY IS THE DAY!! My time has come Okay, I’m not dying (I think?), but 365 days ago JBelkBooks was born! Just typing up this post is giving me all the feelsΒ & excitement because to me, this is such a huge accomplishment. And today, I’m sharing the Amazing, the Struggle, and everything else related to JBelkBooks’ One Year Blogiversary.

text2061672744

YOU. Yes, you are the Amazing. Every single one of you that have read my posts, commented, followed…You ALL make a difference on my blog and in my life. I know followers and stats in general aren’t supposed to matter, but if we are being truthful, those are factors that helped me continue blogging for this past year.

GOING TO BOOKISH EVENTS. If it weren’t for blogging or really anything connected to the bookish community, I don’t think I would’ve went out of my way to research and find events near my area. I would’ve missed YALLWest, BFestBuzz, & all these fantastic deals online if I weren’t a blogger. I am extremely grateful for all the events I have attended — they have definitely been a blast.

GETTING OUT OF MY COMFORT ZONE. This relates to so many things — joining #booksfortrade via Twitter, chatting with strangers (that are now NOT strangers, lol), sending out personal info. to publishers/authors, etc. These things were scary to meΒ at first because it was so new and I didn’t even know if people would want to trade with me or how to contact an author/publisher. But with these new experiences came a not-so shy Jesalin and (I would like to say) a pro-emailer πŸ˜‰

CREATING A SPACE FOR MYSELF.Β JBelkBooks is basically my second home. I create, I express, & I am ultimately myself on this platform. I love that I have created such a space that I can always go to.

text518766592

THE SHAME OF COMPARISON. I know I’m not the only one that compares myself to other bloggers and their success, and I know we aren’t supposed to do that as bloggers. But it is VERY hard for me to NOT compare myself to others. Even in my personal daily life, I constantly rank myself and that is probably really unhealthy. As bloggers, we all want certain things that others have and sometimes jealousy and envy can get to an all-time high in our community. This weakness of mine is definitely something I want to work on as my time blogging exceeds.

JUGGLING LIFE AND BLOGGING/READING. This is still something I need to work on tremendously. With school arriving soon, I really need to prioritize my time & pre-blog as much as I can. Blogging IS my life (along with other things, of course), & I don’t think I’m just going to completely give up on blogging. But I’m also very serious about my education and actually having a life outside of staying at home, so managing my time has definitely been a struggle over this past year.

text1770655650

MY FAMILY. Even though they may never see this, I would still like to send them a HUGE thank you for all that they have done for me as a blogger and reader. They are the ones that have ultimately supported me from the beginning. My parents buy me books, take me to bookish events, and are overall the best supporters that I could ever have. So THANK YOU!!! ❀

YOU. Yes, you, again!! You guys are so incredibly special to me and overall so kind to me and I could never thank any of you enough!! You are my supporters even if you just started following me yesterday, so THANK YOU!! ❀

A few quick individual shout-outs to: Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books // Fadwa @ Word Wonders // Eve @ Eve Messenger // Lashaan & Trang @ Bookidote // Yasmin @ Read Books and Drink Coffee // Astra @ A Stranger’s Guide to Novels

All of you guys are TWICE A MILLION TIMES as awesome!! You guys have been loyal to me throughout my journey, and I wanted to thank you guys individually for all your unconditional support & love. Thank you so, so much ❀

text290593811

  1. Be yourself. As bloggers we all have something different and unique to bring to the community, even if you don’t think so. Make your blog the way you want, post what you want, be who YOU want.
  2. Have fun. If you aren’t happy with the content that you are putting out, change it up a bit. Tired of tags? Post a discussion! Don’t want to post so many reviews anymore? Start a new meme! The possibilities are endless, so make your blogging experience fun & worthwhile.
  3. Make friends. It may seem scary at first because “trust nobody”, but believe me, there ARE some amazing people in this community (if you are looking for some, check out that list above). In fact, this is one of the most supportive communities I’ve ever witnessed. Make friends and support each other 110% of the way.
  4. Say goodbye to your comfort zone. The more you experience new things, the better your blogging journey will be. Find bookish events near you, plan a meet-up with fellow bloggers near you, and/or reach out to your favorite authors/publishers. — you never know what could happen!
  5. Plan ahead. Pre-blogging makes a difference. Know what you are going to post before hand so you aren’t scrambling last minute to get a post up. Have a set schedule & stick with it because it makes things SOO much easier!

text470057372.gif

So what is the plan for JBelkBooks? Of course I have a few goals in mind regarding stats and such, but ultimately I do want to resolve the issues I discussed that were The Struggle this year. Eventually I do wish to self-host, maybe visit a larger bookish convention such as Book Expo America, & just overall expand my knowledge to create an ever BETTER blogging space to share with you all. I am nowhere near professional, so there is always room to grow & experience something new. And I honestly can’t wait to see what the Future hold for JBelkBooks.

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE!!

In hopes that you made it this far down this very lengthy post, I did want to let you guys know that YES, I AM HOSTING A GIVEAWAY just for you!! The details and such will be announced in my NEXT post (tomorrow) so please hang tight and get ready for a Q&A with yours truly, along with a GIVEAWAY!!Β 

If you have any last minute QUESTIONS please feel free to comment them down below! I will be answering everything, so make them as weird or not-so weird as you want! πŸ˜€

❀ Thank you for growing and following me along my blogging journey. I appreciate you ALL & I hope you stick around to see what JBelkBooks has to come ❀

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

si86578
34 Comments

Filed under Discussion

34 responses to “365 Days Later… | JBelkBooks’ One Year Blogiversary [Part 1]

  1. This post is so so so amazing ! Seriously I loved reading through it so much that I didn’t even realize how long it was, it also made me kind of emotional πŸ™Š especially that shout out !! You are one of the best people I’ve met through blogging Jess, you are such a ray of sunshine πŸ˜„β€
    So let’s see about those questions :
    -What book character would you want to be best friends with ?
    -What are 3 books you’d recommend someone to initiate them to reading ?
    Also good luck with all your school things, it sounds like a tough year but I’m sure you’ll brilliantly makd it through !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwww, THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I literally poured my heart out on this post, so I’m glad it was worth the read xD If I am a ray of sunshine…then you are..the BEST RAINBOW EVER (sorry I couldn’t think of anything) ❀

      I will definitely be getting to those questions in my next post!! Thank yooouuu so, so, SO much again!! πŸ˜€

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Like

  2. Happy blogiversary, Jesalin! Here’s to many more fabulous years of blogging ahead of you. ❀

    I definitely felt all of the struggles as well – like you, I'm very prone to comparison even in real life and it definitely translates to blogging, too, especially because there are obvious metrics such as page views, followers, visits, etc.

    As for questions:
    1) What is your perfect pizza?
    2) How was your day?
    3) What are you reading and what are you planning to read next?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Reg! I really appreciate all your feedback and kind words — you are the best!! ❀

      Hopefully we'll both grow together & gradually separate ourselves from comparison & all the negative aspects that come along with it! πŸ™‚

      Thank you for the questions!! I can't wait to answer them πŸ˜‰

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Like

  3. You are such an inspiring young blogger! I wish I had been as disciplined, driven, and creative as you at your age. You are a treasure, Jesalin.
    Congratulations on your fabulous achievement.
    I hope you have a long and prosperous blogging career. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww my heart literally feels so loved!! Thank you SO much for saying such words about my blog & I — I really, really appreciate you & your kind heart! I can’t express how much your words mean to me, but THANK YOU anyways!! ❀ You are definitely the sweetest! πŸ™‚

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a lovely post! Happy, HAPPY Anniversary!πŸ™‹πŸ»πŸŽ‚πŸ’

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is such a great post. I also struggle with comparing myself to other bloggers, even though I know I shouldn’t! And I definitely have a hard time balancing blogging and reading with real life. I’m kind of dreading school starting up again because I know I’ll have to cut back on blogging and reading.
    And of course, congratulations on hitting a year of blogging! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats! Such a fantastic accomplishment πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

    Liked by 1 person

  7. WOUUU!!! HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY!! ❀ ❀ Your dedication to your blog will always be praised and I truly hope that you continue to build this amazing blog of yourself into something bigger every single day!!! πŸ˜› CONGRATULATIONS AGAIN!!! And keep up the amazing work you put into your precious blogging life!

    P.S. I totally understand your unstoppable need to compare. I, myself, do it all the time. I use it to get better, but it does sometimes have its effects when I see something more beautiful elsewhere. Here's to us becoming better selves with time and experience!! πŸ˜›

    HAPPPY BLOGIVERSARYYYY AGAIN!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU SO, SO, SO MUCH!!!! Your help & support has been never-ending since I first met you both, so THANK YOU for making my journey so amazing πŸ™‚

      We will both definitely grow together & I can’t wait to see the day you both are something even BIGGER πŸ˜€

      THANK YOU AGAIN — YOU TWO ARE LOVED TREMENDOUSLY ❀ ❀ ❀

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Liked by 1 person

  8. JESS YOU MADE IT TO A YEAR AND YOUVE DONE SO WELL IM SO PROUD OF YOU!! I can’t wait to see your blog grow and also our friendship grow (like a beautiful tree which provides us books πŸŽ‰ 🌱🌳)
    I feel so honoured to be mentioned in this post, I feel like I won a big award or something, when really it’s you who one a big award bc you’ve been blogging for 365 days and you’ve been doing amazingly for each and every single one of them.
    Keep up the good work Jess because I’m proud of you
    -Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yasmin, you are literally going to make me cry, hahah! I’ve been staying strong all day, trying not to cry, but your comment set off the waterworks!!! (in a good way, of course!!) YOU ARE SO UNBELIEVABLY KIND & LOVABLE & I can’t wait for our friendship to grow as our blogs grow together ❀ It was a complete fortune to be able to meet & get to know you during my journey, so THANK YOU for being apart of my big award! πŸ˜€ I appreciate you so much, Yasmin & thank you, again! ❀ ❀ ❀

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Liked by 1 person

      • That was what I was aiming for, to make you happy not to make you cry. AWW JESS YOURE MAKING ME CRY! I CANNOT BEGIN TO EXPLAIN HOW MUCH I VALUE OUR FRIENDSHIP, we can watch our blogs grow old together. WE SHOULD HAVE A JOIN BIRTHDAY PARTY FOR OUR BLOGS (my one year anniversary is early September) haha. But in all seriousness I’m so happy for you Jess, I can’t wait to see what else you have in store for us all.
        – Yasmin

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahah, well you definitely made my night so thank you so, so much!!❀

        I just had to return the favor & at least try to make you cry!! xD Lol, I’m totally kidding but I’m glad you value our friendship just as much as I do! You are such an amazing blogger & overall person, so thank you again for making my blogging experience worthwhile!πŸ˜€

        YEEESSSS, LET’S DO IT!!!! My actual birthday is at the end of September, so we could definitely work something out..?!

        THANK YOU AGAIN, YASMIN!!!❀❀

        -Jess @jbelkbooks

        Liked by 1 person

      • NAAAW JESS ❀❀ I feel so honoured! I aspire to be just as good as a person as you are, you’re so lovely and helpful
        We should!! No idea what exactly but we should do something
        YOU’RE VERY WELCOME JESS
        – Yasmin

        Liked by 1 person

      • Awww, well THANK YOU AGAIN, YASMIN — YOU ARE DEFINITELY ONE OF THE BEST BLOGGERS/PEOPLE I’VE MET!!! ❀ ❀

        As for the blogiversary/birthday thing, we should do something! Like you, idk what exactly we would do but we'll figure it out when the date gets closer xD

        -Jess @jbe

        Liked by 1 person

      • NAAW *hugs hugs hugs* YOUR AMAZING JESS! I FEEL THE EXACT SAME WAY ABOUT YOU ❀
        We should, it'd be cool.
        – Yasmin

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yaaaay! Let’s talk again about this as it gets closer to the end of this month..? πŸ™‚

        -Jess @jbelkbooks

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: JBelkBooks’s One Year Blogiversary | Q&A + GIVEAWAY! [Part 2] | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  10. Huge congratulations Jess!! I am so, so happy for you, and this post is just wonderful, because you underlined the struggles just as much as all the positive sides. I encounter the same struggles, and sometimes it’s hard, but we always need to remind ourselves to have fun, and to blog the way we want to because it’s our place πŸ™‚ THANK YOU for the shout out, this made me SO happy, really, and you’re one of the BEST people I have met thanks to book blogging ❀ To many, many more years of blogging!! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | Absent August | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  12. Pingback: Happy Birthday To Me! | Aug. & Sept. Wrap-Up! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  13. Pingback: Diversebookbloggers, featuring JBelkBooks! – brown books | green tea

  14. Pingback: Celebrating the Little Things! | Tag | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  15. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  16. Pingback: Another Year & Counting…| 2016 Recap + Survey | -- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

Leave a Reply

