Haunted By Your Ex(es) | The Boyfriend Backtrack by Dawn Lanuza

FullSizeRender (79)

Random Fact of the Day: Left-handed people are better at sports that require good spatial judgment and fast reaction.

*REVIEW MAY INCLUDE SPOILERS. READ AT OWN RISK*

Title: The Boyfriend Backtrack

Author(s): Dawn Lanuza

Genre: Romance, Contemporary

Page Count: 292

Published: October 3rd, 2014

Format: ePub

Source: Sent in exchange for an honest review

BUY HERE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

“If they say that life flashes right before your eyes when you die, do you also get a flashback of your exes when your perfect boyfriend is proposing to you? At least that’s the case for Regina Cortez. There’s her dramatic high school boyfriend, her first college crush, the irresistible heart breaker, and the ever elusive one. By backtracking to her past, will Regina make it to ‘I Do’? Or will she just keep running away?”


IMG_0727

|| The Feels: 4/5 || Emotions: Occasionally bored, Excited, YAASSS *heart eyes* || Characters: 2.85/5 || Character Development: 2.85/5 || Plot: 2/5 || Interest: 3.5/5 ||Writing: 3/5 || Narration: 3/5 || Flow of Reading: 5/5 || Ending: 4/5

Want a more in depth review? Keep reading!

IMG_0728

“I realize that not everyone could be granted the chance of getting a decent closure – most people just deal with the decisions they made then on their own.”

So let’s start with the characters. The main character, Regina, was pretty enjoyable for the most part; I couldn’t relate to her TOO much just because I don’t have a ton of exes and her personality was a little weird (but I’m weird, so who am I to judge…?). As for the minor characters such as her best friends, Leslie and Jules, they were distinct and different compared to Regina. They all had their own profession, their own personality, and I think that added an overall comical aspect to the novel.

I must admit I did get a little confused when different male figures were introduced because I found myself asking, “wait, who is that again?? *scrolls back to previous page”, a lot…But maybe that’s because I am a sucky reader, lol. As for the male main characters, they, too, were different compared to each other. My favorite was obviously Chase, but hey, you’ll know why once you read it 😉

The characters all together weren’t really..”progressing” in my opinion. The only characters that had some form of development was Regina and Chase, but it wasn’t individual development…it was more of a…”pair” development. By the way, Regina and Chase = ❤ ❤ ❤ With that being said, I don’t remember there being any specific plot, either. Yes, the read was quick and for the most part entertaining, but the only conflicts that arose were between her and her exes. And you can consider that an external conflict, but I guess what I’m saying is that the plot was…boring? 

“I believe that the ‘love of your life’ is just a person that you chose. You choose them because you believe that they’re it.”

The writing was easy to read, mostly because the novel was primarily dialogue (which I love in Contemporaries). I really liked how the novel kept going back in time — “6 years ago”, “3 years ago”, etc., because it was kind of like…a flashback. And that was pretty cool to see how Regina has changed since the event she describes.

Overall this novel was interesting and definitely reminded me of the Scott Pilgrim vs. The World Comics by Bryan Lee O’Malley. The concept behind the novel was intriguing, I just wish there was more conflict and development of the main character, Regina. I recommend this read to anyone looking for a quick, romantic, and mostly comedic contemporary!

rating

                                                                                                                                                                           So what’s the ultimate verdict?

I gave Dawn Lanuza’s, The Boyfriend Backtrack, a…

3.5 out of 5 stars


Thank you Dawn Lanuza for providing me the opportunity to read and review your novel, The Boyfriend Backtrack! What do you guys think of this novel? What’s the last contemporary you read? Chat with me in the comments! 🙂

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

coollogo_com-110561221
4 Comments

Filed under Book Review

4 responses to “Haunted By Your Ex(es) | The Boyfriend Backtrack by Dawn Lanuza

  1. Nice review!
    I never heard about this novel before. Seems like a perfect chick-lit. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | Jumbled July | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  3. Pingback: Semi-Hiatus for JBelkBooks? | July Wrap-Up! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

Leave a Reply

