Souvenirs From Across The World | What’s Up With The Bay Area?

Random Fact of the Day: A hippo can open its mouth wide enough to fit a 4 foot tall child inside! (note to self: don’t go around a hippo)

OH MY GOSH IT’S HERE!!! THIS POST IF FINALLY LIVEEEEE!!! Hello sunshines! Today I am here with a VERY exciting post all originated from the wonderful and brilliant mind of Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books!! So what is this creature called “Souvenirs From Across the World”?? Well, since I’m too lazy to actually put things in my own words right now, take the wise words of Marie (for your convenience and mine) :

Souvenirs From Across The World is a feature made for book bloggers, but also bloggers in general and writers from all around the world. We are just SO many, and I have made such wonderful friends here. This feature is a way to share with each other something slightly different, a bit personal and unique with everyone. Since we’re from all around the world, this feature is created to get to know each other, and most especially each other’s culture, country, hometowns etc.”

If you want to join SFATW or you want to read more information, check it out HERE!

So since I didn’t want to do the United States in general (because, heck, a lot of people live in the U.S.), and I didn’t want to give everyone my living address, I decided to focus on my general area. This happens to be…

THE BAY AREA (of California)

Let’s just get this out of the way: I am certainly not an expert of The Bay Area. Yes, I’ve lived in this area my whole life, but that doesn’t make me your top tour host. Without further a do, WHAT’S UP WITH THE BAY AREA???

The Bay Area consists of several cities, but here are some of the major ones:

  • San Francisco, CA
  • San Jose, CA
  • Oakland, CA

I’ve visited all three, but if there’s one that I enjoy the most, it definitely has to be San Francisco. So if you should get anything from this post, it has to be GO TO SAN FRANCISCO!!!!

THE BAY AREA ATTRACTIONS (well, some…)

  • SAN FRANCISCO: There’s usually one reason people want to come to CA, and most of the time it is to visit SF. San Francisco literally has everything — great atmosphere, beaches, awesome food, etc. I’ve been to SF several times, and I honestly can’t get enough. There are several other attractions invested in the area of SF, such as the AT&T park (for all you baseball fans), the Exploratorium (for my fellow nerds), & the Golden Gate Bridge (for all people willing to explore).
  • CHINATOWN: Chinatown is the oldest but biggest location in North America. I have yet to visit for myself, but isn’t the environment just beautiful?? Chinatown is the city’s top tourist area, with the largest Chinese community outside of Asia. Oh, and authentic Chinese food??? YES, PLEASE!! ❤
  • UNION SQUARE: This is one of California’s most popular ‘hangout’ spots, for both the young and the…not so young. Union Square is made up of central shopping, hotels, theater districts, and much, much more. To this day, this one-block area is one of the largest collections of department stores, upscale boutiques, gift shops, art galleries, and beauty salons in the U.S. Oh, and did I mention there are HEART STATUES at each of the four corners of Union Square?? So cool! ❤
  • CALIFORNIA’S GREAT AMERICA: Great America is an amusement park located in Santa Clara, CA. This one is labeled as, “The Bay Area’s Most Exciting Theme Park”, and I must say, I do not disagree! They have family rides, thriller rides, Planet Snoopy (yes, Snoopy the dog), a water park…everything a crazy, fun teenager would think of (or is that just me…?). I personally love GA for the food, but that may be me, too 😉

Now I’m sure while going to these places you are going to get PRETTY hungry…So what are you gonna eat?? How will you solve your extreme hunger?? 

THE BAY AREA EATS

  • IN-N-OUT: If you are a burger person, swing by this location!! Everyone and their mother (that I know of) absolutely adores this burger place with a passion. There are only 5 states in the U.S. that have In-N-Out, so yes, I am thankful. What do I recommend? The Double-Double Cheeseburger!!

  • HOLLYWOOD CAFE: This place has the BEESSTT breakfast!! What if you aren’t a breakfast-type of person?? Well, they have lunch too! But get there EARLY because the wait can be ridiculous (most of the time). However, take it from me, it is definitely worth the wait. What do I recommend? The French Toast with a side of fruit!
  • CALIFORNIA ROLLS: The CA Roll was invented by a man in Las Angeles, CA, so that’s how this sushi creation got it’s name. The CA Roll has to be one of my favorite types of sushi, and you can get it almost anywhere — sushi restaurants, supermarkets, and even gas stations (if you are lucky). If you aren’t a fan of crab, avocado, seaweed, rice, or cucumber, just GO GET ANY sushi in the Bay Area (I promise you’ll like it)…

As you can tell, there’s a lot of diversity when it comes to the Bay Area. Where I live in particular, there is really… “everyone” — from race, to gender, to sexuality. And I think that’s where the heart of the Bay Area really is. Depending on where you go in the Bay Area, remember to check out the weather because it can vary from place to place (in my area, the weather is extremely bipolar, lol).

If you ever decide to visit the Bay Area, or California in general, I would love to know!! I live more towards San Francisco, but anywhere you go I’m sure you’ll find something for you to do. I certainly didn’t explain everything about TBA, but I hope you got the main idea! Thank you for traveling with me virtually around the Bay Area, and I hope you visit soon! 😀


Are you taking part in the SFATW feature??? Have you been to California? What about the Bay Area?? Chat with me in the comments below!

Thank you again to Marie for hosting this awesome feature!! ❤

*Disclaimer: All photo rights go to rightful owner. None of the photographs shown above are mine.

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

coollogo_com-110561221

27 Comments

Filed under Discussion

27 responses to “Souvenirs From Across The World | What’s Up With The Bay Area?

  1. I have heard a lot about In-N-Out, but have yet to eat there. But then I also don’t love burgers….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well they have french fries! And shakes…lol. I know everyone’s not a burger person (and honestly I’m not THAT much of a burger person either) but when I am in the mood for one, In-N-Out is definitely a place that’s on my mind…

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Like

  2. Pingback: Souvenirs from across the world : Hidden Gems From France | Drizzle & Hurricane Books

  3. Ahhh thank you so, so much for your contribution, I absolutely LOVED this post ❤ To be honest, going to California is one of my biggest dream, and I'm so glad I got to travel a bit with you thanks to that blog post! I am a BIG BURGER PERSON so YES I do want, I NEED, even, to try and eat those incredible burgers ❤ It's making me hungry ahah ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! I loved learning about the Bay Area! I knew it included San Fran but I also didn’t know Oakland and San Jose were also apart of it! I’d love to visit Great America and Union Square one day; it looks like so much fun! And eat at In and Out Burger of course! The chain hasn’t come to Canada yet 😄 Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I would definitely recommend visiting the places I mentioned if you ever visit, along with some other attractions. As long as you go to In-N-Out on the way 😉 Thank you for commenting!!

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Like

  5. ichabod2014ic

    Great post, J.
    California looks very inviting!
    I want to climb the Golden Gate!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hope to visit the Bay Area some day! I always thought the Bay Area was part of a city instead of consisting of several cities. Haha. I follow a gaming/random topic podcast based in San Francisco and ever since they mentioned In N Out, I wanted to give it a try. They just look so delicous. I want to visit Golden Gate Bridge and the Park too. Though I heard that there are a lot of homeless people living in the Park? I didn’t know California Rolls actually originated from California, I always thought it was just a name. Haha. Thanks for the post! I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha well I’m glad I could share some new information! I’m not sure about the homeless people idea, but I know there are definitely homeless people around…everywhere…lol. I hope you find the time to visit the Bay Area!! 😀

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Liked by 1 person

  7. SF is one of my must-visit places of EVEEEER ! I need to go there, please can someone take me? And your post makes the not being there right now even harder. It is such an awesome place and that food looks AMAZIIING and I’m very hungry right now, so … Thank you?
    Great post Jess, I loved reading about the Bay Area from your perspective ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. this is so cool! I’ve been to the US but I don’t remember any of it or exactly where I went as I was little when I went but I’m planning on going overseas once I finish school and you’ve helped add to the growing list of things I want to do overseas
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Me Want To Go There Now!!!
    Like many other people, I dream of going to California, thank you for taking us with you on a tour! 🙂 I want to live in an In-N-out and try everything! Who said big burger fan??? haha! I am so curious about the French toast. As a French myself, it is my duty to taste everything with our name on it! Loved your colorful post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thank you, Donna! If it makes you feel better, it is definitely a dream of mine to LEAVE the states xD In-N-Out is something you should really try once you are in the states, especially if you are a big burger fan! As for the French toast, I loooove French toast…but I’ll let you be the judge 😉 Thank you for commenting!! ❤

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Lovely post! I’ve always wanted to go to America and visit the states and this NEEDS to be one of them! It seems great 🙂 The attractions are definitely awesome and the food is always a winner for me! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Another Month Has Come To An End… | June Wrap-Up! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  12. Pingback: SFATW Part 2! | Chat with JBelkBooks | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  13. Pingback: #SFATW | My Bay Area, CA Loves | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

Leave a Reply

