Another DNF, friends! | Eleanor by Jason Gurley

FullSizeRender (37).jpg

Random Fact of the Day: Three consecutive strikes in bowling is called a turkey.

*REVIEW MAY INCLUDE SPOILERS. READ AT OWN RISK*

Title: Eleanor

Author(s): Jason Gurley

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Magical Realism

Page Count: 384

Published: January 12th, 2016

Format: Hardback

Source: Received book from Blogging for Books in exchange for this honest review

BUY HERE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

“Eleanor and Esmerelda are identical twins with a secret language all their own, inseparable until a terrible accident claims Esme’s life. Eleanor’s family is left in tatters: her mother retreats inward, seeking comfort in bottles; her father reluctantly abandons ship. Eleanor is forced to grow up more quickly than a child should, and becomes the target of her mother’s growing rage.

Years pass, and Eleanor’s painful reality begins to unravel in strange ways. The first time it happens, she walks through a school doorway, and finds herself in a cornfield, beneath wide blue skies. When she stumbles back into her own world, time has flown by without her. Again and again, against her will, she falls out of her world and into other, stranger ones, leaving behind empty rooms and worried loved ones.

One fateful day, Eleanor leaps from a cliff and is torn from her world altogether. She meets a mysterious stranger, Mea, who reveals to Eleanor the weight of her family’s loss. To save her broken parents, and rescue herself, Eleanor must learn how deep the well of her mother’s grief and her father’s heartbreak truly goes. Esmerelda’s death was not the only tragic loss in her family’s fragmented history, and unless Eleanor can master her strange new abilities, it may not be the last.”


IMG_0730

I really thought I was going to enjoy this novel, but I don’t know. The synopsis was intriguing (and still is) and I was interested in the beginning. However when I read this, I just wasn’t in the mood and I just didn’t connect with the plot or characters. So, yes, this is another DNF of 2016.

IMG_0727

|| The Feels: 1.5/5 || Emotions: Bored, Interested (in the beginning), Intense, Disappointed || Characters: 2/5 || Character Development: N/A || Plot: 2.5/5 || Interest: 2/5 ||Writing: 3/5 || Narration: 3/5 || Flow of Reading: 4/5 || Ending: N/A

Want a more in depth review? Keep reading!

IMG_0728

“Most souls wait for a very long time. In the end, the peace they seek is usually within themselves, not within the confines of the world they left.”

Since this is a DNF, I can’t do a very in depth review, however I thought I’d do just a mini-review with the pros & cons of what I did read (about 50 pages in)…

PROS:

  • interesting premise
  • promising first few 20 pages
  • good reviews on Goodreads
  • clear & flowing syntax
  • beautiful writing

CONS:

  • trouble connecting with the plot & characters
  • confusing shift in point of view
  • minimal dialogue
  • jump between settings (years change)
  • almost repetitive telling of information & scenes

If there’s one thing that I truly enjoyed about this novel, it has to be the writing. Gurley has excellent writing skills, and I really was grasped in the beginning where he tells the background of Eleanor. I seemed to be Eleanor during those few pages, and I could feel the grief and depression that she was feeling. However, as the novel continued and new characters were introduced, I seemed to have lost interested and connection with Eleanor & what the point of the novel was exactly. I think it may have been the shifts in time, but I just didn’t understand what quite was going on.

I do wish to continue this novel in the future, just because I want to give it a second chance. There are some amazing and positive reviews for Eleanor on Goodreads, so I suspect this novel has to be good. I think this novel does have some potential in the long run, but for now I will be setting this novel aside…

“Reality is a terrific drug.”

rating

                                                                                                                                                                           So what’s the ultimate verdict?

I gave Jason Gurley’s, Eleanor, a…

1.5 out of 5 stars


Have you read Eleanor? How many novels have you DNFed this year? Let me know down below your thoughts, comments, or questions regarding this novel!

*Thank you Blogging for Books for the opportunity to read and review this novel.

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

coollogo_com-110561221

6 Comments

Filed under Book Review

6 responses to “Another DNF, friends! | Eleanor by Jason Gurley

  1. Vijayalakshmi Harish

    Aww.. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the book. I read it a couple of months ago and quite liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your style of reviewing books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | Joyful June | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  4. Pingback: The Liebster Award! | Round Three | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

Leave a Reply

