Which Cover Wednesday [#17]

FullSizeRender (6)

Random Fact of the Day: A roach can live up to nine days without its head.

Hello sunshines! Last time I posted a Which Cover Wednesday, I had a few weeks left of my Sophomore year of high school. Now, today, I am done with my Sophomore year and I am officially a Junior! Wowwy, has the time passed…

Anyways, if this is your first time seeing a Which Cover Wednesday post, Which Cover Wednesday is a post hosted by Sumaya @suereadingcorner. For this post, you choose two different covers of the same book — the books can have different publishers, different formats, etc. Then you decide which one you think is more appealing. Let’s debate:


VAMPIRE ACADEMY BY RICHELLE MEAD

18660669

OR

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)

Both covers are fairly similar, however covers with a plain-faced female figure is getting real old, so therefore I choose the first cover. At least the first cover has a little more detail, whereas the second one is just…sadistic & seducing in some ways lol.

NEVERNIGHT BY JAY KRISTOFF

26114463

OR

29845906

Ahh, both are actually really mesmerizing! However I think what sold me was the typography on the first cover. The detail of the bird figure on the second cover is just amazing, however the title’s font on the first cover is really nice & I love the shadow addition.

STEELHEART BY BRANDON SANDERSON

22906853

OR

20342545

Okay, again, I am going with the first cover, lol (I swear I am not doing this on purpose!). I think the first cover just fits the synopsis of the book better, but I do understand the meaning behind the second cover — heart shaped steel.


And there we have it! I hope you all enjoyed this post, and please don’t be afraid to comment below what you thought of these covers! 🙂

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

coollogo_com-110561221

13 Comments

Filed under Which Cover Wednesday

13 responses to “Which Cover Wednesday [#17]

  1. Olivia

    I agree with you on all of these! The U.K. Sanderson covers are amazing. But the U.S. has a very different style for fantasy books

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay!! I definitely noticed the difference between U.K. covers & the U.S. editions when it comes to fantasy. But I think that just adds a little bit more diversity & options when it comes to purchasing the novel itself… 🙂

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Like

  2. Wow the second cover for Nevernight is beautiful! I adore illustrated covers, though I agree that the typography in the first one is amazing. I prefer all the Brandon Sanderson books in the UK editions for two reasons – one: they are white and look amazing; two: they all match. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Geronimo Reads

    I love the second cover for Nevernight! I agree with you on the covers for VA and Steelheart though. It seems like all of the UK editions of Brandon Sanderson’s novels are so much prettier than the US ones!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t like any of the vampire academy covers to be honest. this series is so good and deserved so much better covers
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I would have to choose the first cover, second, then first! I actually have the second cover of Steelheart, but I do wish I had the first. Have you seen the UK editions of Mistborn? The first cover matches those better and even though the UK editions aren’t the EXACT ones I have, it does match the covers I do have. They are all pretty lengthy but you should try them out!

    Jess @ POB!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, a lot of people have said that they enjoy the second cover for Nevernigh. And after looking at the two a little more closely, I think I may like the second one a little bit better because of the contrast between the simple colors. xD

      I actually haven’t seen the UK editions of Mistborn, but I just did some research and I agree that they do match NN. I think if they were all put together on one shelf that would be pretty awesome, too.

      I’ve seen/heard a few reviews regarding the Mistborn trilogy, but I’m not a HUGE fantasy fan (I know, shocker, lol). However with the raving reviews and ratings on GR, I think I may give it a try 😉

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Like

  6. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | Joyful June | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

Leave a Reply

