My First MG of the Year! | George by Alex Gino

IMG_0495

Random Fact of the Day: Lightning strikes about 6,000 times per minute on this planet!

*REVIEW MAY INCLUDE SPOILERS. READ AT OWN RISK*

Title: George

Author(s): Alex Gino

Genre: Middle Grade, LGBTQ+, Realistic Fiction

Page Count: 195

Published: August 25th, 2015

Format: Hardback

Source: Purchased

BUY HERE: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

“BE WHO YOU ARE.

When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she’s not a boy. She knows she’s a girl.

George thinks she’ll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte’s Web. George really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can’t even try out for the part . . . because she’s a boy.

With the help of her best friend, Kelly, George comes up with a plan. Not just so she can be Charlotte — but so everyone can know who she is, once and for all.”


IMG_0730

Not only was this my first middle grade book of the year, but it is also the first middle grade that I’ve read that features LGBTQ+ relationships. I think I first saw this novel mentioned on Booktube, and then gradually I saw it everywhere else. And then when I went to a nearby used & new bookstore, I saw George sitting on the shelves in the Used section. So, I decided to pick it up for cheap and I am very glad I did.

IMG_0727

|| The Feels: 4.5/5 || Emotions: Angry, Delight, Happy || Characters: 4/5 || Character Development: 4/5 || Plot: 4/5 || Interest: 5/5 || Writing: 4/5 || Narration: 4/5 || Flow of Reading: 5/5 || Ending: 5/5

Want a more in depth review? Keep reading!

IMG_0728

“She’s always going on about how we’re not supposed to let people’s expectations limit our choices.”

George has wanted nothing more than to be who she wants to be without people questioning every move she makes. There’s this underlying secret that she hopes she doesn’t have to keep inside forever, but who’s going to believe her? Not even her own MOTHER knows what she is thinking and feeling inside, so how could she possibly let everyone know the truth? Well, thank the creator of Charlotte’s Web because George is about to shine.

This novel is absolutely beautiful. The whole idea about George and her story is very inspirational and realistic. Even though this is a Middle Grade, the emotion and the importance is definitely there, hidden in between the lines of the pages and the dialogue of George herself.

I found myself getting so angry over the minor characters and their actions towards George — calling her names, holding prejudice thoughts, etc. But then I also found myself relaxing eventually because of George’s best friend, Kelly. Kelly is literally the BEST best friend that someone could ever have — she was so entirely supportive of George and what she wanted and overall they had a very zany relationship. Of course there were other supportive characters including her mother and brother in the end.

“George stopped. It was such a short, little question, but she couldn’t make her mouth form the sounds.
“Mom, what if I’m a girl?”

I know this may sound completely outrageous, but I loved reading through George’s struggles in becoming who she wanted. I must admit in the beginning I kept asking myself, “Wait, so is SHE a HE?? Or is HE a SHE?? Or neither….???” But then eventually I did catch on with a nice “OOOOOOOHH!”. As I was reading I felt like I was George and my heart literally ached for her whenever the conflict began to spin downhill. However at the end when events began to enlighten, I immediately felt so happy for George and everything she accomplished.

“She looked in the mirror and gasped. Melissa gasped back at her. For a long time, she stood there, just blinking. George smiled, and Melissa smiled too.”

Overall this novel definitely has something for everyone to take back and reflect upon. Gino did a fantastic job building up George as a character and describing the honest events of her struggles and accomplishments. This novel is ALL about acceptance, self-love, and confidence, so if you want something involving those three aspects, I recommend you check George by Alex Gino out soon.

rating

                                                                                                                                                                           So what’s the ultimate verdict?

I gave Alex Gino’s, George, a…

4.5 out of 5 stars


Have you read George? How about anything else by Gino? Is there a middle grade that you’ve read that you’d like to share? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

FIND ME ELSEWHERE:

coollogo_com-110561221
3 Comments

Filed under Book Review

3 responses to “My First MG of the Year! | George by Alex Gino

  1. Ohh I think I’ve seen the cover around but I had no idea what it was about. It sounds fantastic. I hadn’t really heard of a Middle Grade LGBTQIA+ book, so this sounds like a great way to start in that genre. Thanks for reviewing it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Another Year & Counting…| 2016 Recap + Survey | -- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

Leave a Reply

