Tears & Fears | Chat with JBelkBooks

IMG_8363

Hello my fellow internet users & Happy Friday! Today I am back with another Discussion Post, so feel free to read my thoughts & join in on the chat!


discussion

TEARS??? FEARS???? What does this MEAN?????

Well, today’s discussion post will be all about emotional & scary novels in YA. Recently I’ve been in the mood for a tear-jerking read, but also a “keep you up late at night” read. So I thought, “Hey, why not ask my fellow book lovers??

I am aware of some known horror novels such as anything by Stephen King & I do know of some supposedly emotional reads such as Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I am actually interested in a few novels by King, but I honestly haven’t gotten around to purchasing them. I do own Moyes’ novel, just haven’t picked it up yet.

However through my experiences I’ve noticed that I haven’t found ANYTHING that has made me tear bullets or shit bricks. I am not saying I want the novel to make me cry for two days straight or have me have nightmares for weeks, but I NEED SOME EMOTION, PEOPLE!!!

I guess what I am saying is that I want to experience a novel that brings out new feelings in me. Too many times have I read a novel, said it was great, but didn’t really have a legitimate connection with it. Therefore I am here today, asking for some horror, suspense, contemporary…honestly, any book recommendations that have made YOU or someone you know cry or hide or watch behind your back every 5 seconds. Any recs are appreciated, even the common/known ones.

Besides that little snippet, I also wanted to share a few of my own read novels that have made me tear. NOT CRY, because no book so far has really made me cry (I swear I am not emotionless, I am actually really sensitive, lol). But here are a few that have made my life miserable for a few good seconds or minutes or so…

  1. Looking for Alaska by John Green
  2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  3. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  4. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
  5. Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

This was literally me after reading those novels:

They were all so beautiful and I love each & every one of them — I have no shame.

With that being said, I don’t have a list for horror novels just because I don’t normally read that genre. But, I would SURE like to have one!!!


download

Now, I wanna hear your thoughts! Do you enjoy horror? Maybe contemporary? Have you read a novel that has made you sad? Or afraid? Chat with me down below in the comments! 🙂

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

coollogo_com-110561221

9 Comments

Filed under Discussion

9 responses to “Tears & Fears | Chat with JBelkBooks

  1. Great post! I love books that make me feel things, and I definitely understand your struggle to find books that make you genuinely cry and genuinely scared! They are rare. Books that have made me cry are Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman, Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver, and We Were Liars by E Lockhart. I also tend to cry in series because undoubtedly characters I love end up dying 😭 I think that’s about it though – there haven’t been many. In terms of scary books, they’re not really necessarily horror (in fact I’m not sure what genre I would categorise any of these as), but the books that made me feel actual fear were Night Film by Marisha Pessl, and Don’t Look Now (which is a short story by Daphne du Maurier). Both are really good! Also if you like strange/creepy books, there is a book called Pines by Blake Crouch, which is so, so good! The other books in the series are great too. And one more creepy one – Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer. The only Stephen King book I’ve read is The Shining, which was pretty creepy – I’d like to read more of his books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooo, great recs! Noughts & Crosses has been on my Amazon shopping cart for forever, so I’ll definitely be looking further into that novel. I have heard of both Before I Fall & We We Liars. Unfortunately, I don’t own Before I Fall and I don’t know much about it. However, I will be searching more about it since you recommended it. As for WWL, I actually started that novel and then put it down when I was about 30-50 pages in — I couldn’t seem to connect with the text and I was honestly a little bored. I have heard some both positive and negative thoughts on WWL, so I’m not sure when I’ll pick it up again.

      I’ve been hearing a ton about the Night Film since the end of last year, so I’ll be sure to add it to my Goodreads ‘Want to Read’ list, lol. The other creepy/scarey novels you mentioned, I haven’t heard of. But like I said previously, I will most likely check them out on Goodreads. THANK YOU for the feedback — It is greatly appreciated! 😀

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t read scary books so I have no recommendations concerning that side of the post but THE BOOK THIEF! I don’t know if you have already read it yet, but gosh that book had me crying like a baby.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | February | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

Leave a Reply

