Review | The Future of Us by Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

IMG_8263

Title: The Future of Us

Author(s): Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Romance, Contemporary

Page Count: 356

Published: November 21st, 2011

Format: Paperback

Source: Purchased

“It’s 1996, and Josh and Emma have been neighbors their whole lives. They’ve been best friends almost as long—at least, up until last November, when Josh did something that changed everything. Things have been weird between them ever since, but when Josh’s family gets a free AOL CD in the mail, his mom makes him bring it over so that Emma can install it on her new computer. When they sign on, they’re automatically logged onto their Facebook pages. But Facebook hasn’t been invented yet. And they’re looking at themselves fifteen years in the future.

By refreshing their pages, they learn that making different decisions now will affect the outcome of their lives later. And as they grapple with the ups and downs of what their futures hold, they’re forced to confront what they’re doing right—and wrong—in the present.”


FullSizeRender (35)

Okay, so I’ve been trying to read the novels that have been on my shelves forever, and this one was one of them. I honestly don’t know why it took me so long to read it, because this novel was great. I love the synopsis & background — it automatically had me hooked. I was scared it was going to have a bunch of science in it, but fortunately (for me) it did not!

FullSizeRender (36)

Okay, where do I start? The characters were very fun & diverse. I don’t know if I am saying that because the characters and I are around the same age? But, I did hold a connection with some of them so that was great. Each character, major or minor, had their own role & own personality and I love that about any novel. The four amigos, Kellan, Tyson, Emma, and Josh, were such astounding characters when they were together and I absolutely adored their relationships. I did find myself questioning the male & female lead characters at times (Emma & Josh), but that’s for later on in the review. 

The overall conflict was what kept me turning the page. I could not put this novel down because there was always something new to learn or something to solve. There was a ton of humor — jokes, smart remarks, bad language, sarcasm…& I mean, I love that in a novel. The fact that they only used Facebook to check their relationships status, their career, & where they lived was kind of selfish but I mean, they are teens.

There wasn’t a great amount of sci-fi, but for me that was okay. I read some reviews on Goodreads after reading the novel & a lot of complaints were about the lack of sci-fi. I had no problem with that because I am not a huge fan of that genre, but I understand their issue. The novel is primarily based off of time travel, so you should expect some form of science. But from what I read, there was little to no science mentioned. 

And now back to the characters because this is when it gets negative. Like I said, I found myself questioning the characters actions & dialogue.  Scratch that. I don’t think it’s the characters, I think it was the plot. Plot lines were dropped constantly, left & right. Josh found out on Facebook that his brother in the future is gay. Okay, that’s cool. But does he do anything about it? No. He just keeps mentioning that his BROTHER IS GAY. Like, so what? That was not needed at all for this novel. There are multiple plot lines mentioned, but most of them aren’t resolved. Yes, those could have been just to keep the reader on their toes, but if you are going to introduce a plot, resolve it later in the novel, please.

The ending wasn’t super great either, but again, that is because it didn’t resolve most of the conflict presented in the novel. My main concern was basically Josh & Emma’s “future” if I am being honest, but knowing the rest of the character’s futures would have been nice as well.

I would go into more detail about the characters, but then this review would be like:

But I will say overall I personally really enjoyed this read — it was refreshing, quick, & engaging & I really like the writing style. Again, I read some negative reviews on Goodreads & people were making valid points, but for me I didn’t completely feel the same way. I am in the middle of liking it and loving it, end of story. I love Jay Asher’s, Thirteen Reasons Why, and now I like/love this one. So I will be picking up more of his works in the near future. For Mackler, I am not sure because I haven’t read anything else by her, but if you have any suggestions let me know!!

rating

So what’s my rating?

I gave Jay Asher’s & Carolyn Mackler’s, The Future of Us, a…

4 out of 5 stars

Let me know down below your thoughts, comments, or questions regarding this novel!

Thanks for reading & I’ll see you next time…

coollogo_com-110561221

8 Comments

Filed under Book Review

8 responses to “Review | The Future of Us by Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

  1. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | January | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful--

  2. Lately I’ve been dying for a real page turner. After I’m done with Magonia I may have to read this one next.

    By the way, I LOVE the way your blog is looking.

    Like

    • Yeah, this one was a page turner! I honestly don’t know if it was because I was rushing to get to the end or if the novel was really that intriguing, lol. But yes, I still do recommend others to read it!

      Oh, thank you SO much!! I’ve been working on changing a few things but I think I’ll stop messing with it for right now, haha. 🙂

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Like

  3. Pingback: January Wrap-Up! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful---

  4. I’m back report that this book ended up being a pretty fun read. Sure, it was light in a lot of areas, but it’s pleasant to read books like that sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think i’ll add this too my tbr. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

