Feature with Followers | #8

FullSizeRender (34)

Hello my lovely people! It is Feature with Followers time!!

Feature with Followers is a weekly post created by JBelkBooks (me) where I will be showcasing one of my AMAZING followers. This gives me an opportunity to really get to know them and give them an opportunity to get their blogs out there in the community. The way I choose my featured follower is Top Secret, so wait for your chance to be featured!

Today I am featuring my first independent male fellow blogger, so I am very pleased to share his blog! I don’t find a ton of male bloggers in the book community, so if you are one I would LOVE to follow you! I really want to broaden the variety of these posts, and this is my way of doing that! Anyways, as you all know, this is the last month of 2015, but I WILL be continuing this post into 2016. So stay tuned for your chance! Here are the hints as to who this week’s FwF could be:

  • Him and I practically have the same name (nickname for me) but he spells his differently.
  • He has the same last name as one of my favorite author’s FIRST name.
  • Not ‘Books at Dusk’ but ‘Books at…?’

Any guesses???


IMG_6842

FullSizeRender1

Jesse @ Books at Dawn!!!

ABOUT JESSE: Hey guys! It’s Jesse Nicholas here from Books at Dawn. I’m a 23 year old book blogger and bibliophile from the big city of Toronto, Ontario, Canada! I currently read, review Young Adult books and post other bookish topics on my blog. When I’m not blogging or reading, I am usually selling shoes at work or stuck in front of a screen watching my massive amount of television shows. I am an aspiring writer and hope to one day become published. So look out for me in the future!

Haha, I haven’t watched actual TV in a while, but it’s nice to know some people aren’t stuck to gluing their faces to Netflix (even though Netflix is pretty great, too). I hope to see some work published by Jesse in the future!

As always, I like to have a little interview session with my follower, so that is what you are going to read below.


ME: Why did you both start blogging in the first place? To express your thoughts? To get to know the book community?

JESSE: Initially I just needed a hobby to pass the time. I had recently moved out from a big city to a significantly smaller one for work and was finding that I had a lot of free time on my hands. I was always reading and I used to watch a lot of BookTube videos, so I thought I would try that. Boy was that ever the wrong move. I sucked so hard at making videos, editing them, and posting them that I quickly scrapped that idea. Then I stumbled upon Blogspot and thought why not give book blogging a go. So I did. I met a lot of great bloggers, authors, and friends. Switched blog domains to WordPress and have read more books this year then I have any other.

ME: What are your top 3 “go-to” book stores? (online or in-store) 

JESSE: My first one would have to be my 2 local book stores here in Toronto. Indigo (Canada’s version of Barnes and Noble) and BMV (a used book store. My second favorite place would have to be Amazon just because they had cheaper prices for Hardcovers. And lastly, Book Outlet when I want to find super cheap books and new reads (that are old).

[I wonder, is Canada’s version of B&N’s just as expensive as America’s? I also tend to go straight to Amazon or BookOutlet, depending on the novels I wish to purchase.]

ME: Besides reading and blogging, what else do you do with your spare time? 

JESSE: I am a huge TV junkie. I keep up with so many shows that there isn’t enough time in the day to watch them all. So when I am not reading or blogging you will find me laying around watching my shows. (I live such an exciting life right?) If only I didn’t have to work. Life would be so much simpler.

[Watching TV (in my case, Netflix) can be very exciting! And yes, life without work would be great..]

ME: What would you say one of your favorite books is from one of your preferred genres?

JESSE: My go to preferred genre is YA Fantasy and I have a couple favorites from that particular genre: Falling Kingdoms, Rebel Spring, Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes, Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo..Those are just a few!

ME: Since it is the month of December, what are two of the top things that you wish to receive or purchase this holiday season?

JESSE: I would love if everyone gifted me a book from my wishlist. Book buying is so expensive nowadays that I’m going broke here buying all the books I want to read. If you don’t buy me a book, then I would also like a new laptop… but I know I would have to buy that one myself! HAHA

[Oh, Jesse. I related so much to this it’s ridiculous, lol. I should really request a new laptop from my parents but this one is still pushing through strong!! Also, books are always amazing gifts!]


And that completes the interview! I definitely enjoyed every single one of Jesse’s answers — they were humorous & truthful and that’s what I love most when getting to know my followers. Just by this small chat you can tell his personality is great and he’s pretty awesome all together. One thing I do enjoy about Jesse’s blog is his layout. It is simple but in some ways enjoyable because you don’t see a lot of simple but sweet blogs. And did I mention his Comic Book Hauls?? I look forward to his hauls because I really do find some cool suggestions and finds, so thanks Jesse! And one more thing that I really like about his blog is his Picture of the Week posts! I noticed when I am on the WordPress application on my phone I usually screenshot his pictures because they are usually really relatable!

You can find Jesse on any of the social media listed below:

twitter-3-512

instagramIcon_400x400


Thank you a bunch to Jesse, again, for taking the time to chat with me and share yourself more with the blogging community. I enjoyed talking with you a little bit and getting to know you more as a person and as a blogger.

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time…

coollogo_com-110561221

6 Comments

Filed under Feature with Followers

6 responses to “Feature with Followers | #8

  1. Ooh, I loved that perfect boys pin/quote thing too! Jesse’s Sunday quotes are always so true and relatable ;P

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | December | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

  3. Pingback: December Wrap-Up | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful--

Leave a Reply

