Review | Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

IMG_7170

Title: Nimona

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Genre: Fantasy, Graphic Novel, Adventure, Humor

Page Count: 272

Format: Paperback

Source: Purchased

“The graphic novel debut from rising star Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic, which Slate awarded its Cartoonist Studio Prize, calling it “a deadpan epic.”

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.”


FullSizeRender (35)

I was told to read this graphic novel a lot, so I decided to purchase and read it. After reading my first graphic novel, In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang, I immediately needed more because that GN was pretty awesome. So, I picked this one up next because a lot of people have mentioned it — either on Booktube or the blogging community.

FullSizeRender (36)

The first thing I seemed to enjoy about this GN was the art style. I don’t have a lot of experience with GN’s, so I cannot compare it to anything else. But I will say I really enjoyed the variety of designs. There wasn’t just one panel of colors and that was great as well. And the use of space was worthwhile.

The individuality of the characters was very unique. From shapeshifters to villians (not really) to scientists, the characters were all very diverse. I enjoyed learning about the main character’s, Nimona, backstory and how she developed throughout the entire novel.

Oh, and I am not sure if this novel was determined to make me a little frightened at times, but it did. There were parts that captured Nimona as almost…devilish? Okay, probably not devilish. But something close to that. Her personality was everywhere from humorous to enraged. And think that’s really what kept the novel intriguing because you never knew what she was planning to do next.

Speaking of humor, this GN was obviously funny at times. I am easy to make laugh, so it probably won’t do you any good hearing about this. But I swear there were parts that were TRULY funny…

So yes, I did find this one to be a wondrous read. I read it in one sitting & I do not regret that. However, now I need another graphic novel to read…

rating

So what’s my rating?

I gave Noelle Stevenson’s, Nimona, a…

5-stars

5 out of 5 stars

Let me know down below your thoughts, comments, or questions regarding this graphic novel!

coollogo_com-110561221

 

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “Review | Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

  1. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | December | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

  2. Pingback: 2015 Blog Mini- Survey! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful--

Leave a Reply

