Daily Archives: November 9, 2015

Review | Dataclysm: Who We Are by Christian Rudder

IMG_7267

Title: Dataclysm: Who We Are (When We Think No One’s Looking)

Author: Christian Rudder

Genre: Non-fiction, Science, Psychology, Sociology, Technology

Page Count: 304

Format: Paperback

Source: Received book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review

An audacious, irreverent investigation of human behavior—and a first look at a revolution in the making
Our personal data has been used to spy on us, hire and fire us, and sell us stuff we don’t need. In Dataclysm, Christian Rudder uses it to show us who we truly are.
For centuries, we’ve relied on polling or small-scale lab experiments to study human behavior. Today, a new approach is possible. As we live more of our lives online, researchers can finally observe us directly, in vast numbers, and without filters. Data scientists have become the new demographers.
In this daring and original book, Rudder explains how Facebook “likes” can predict, with surprising accuracy, a person’s sexual orientation and even intelligence; how attractive women receive exponentially more interview requests; and why you must have haters to be hot. He charts the rise and fall of America’s most reviled word through Google Search and examines the new dynamics of collaborative rage on Twitter. He shows how people express themselves, both privately and publicly. What is the least Asian thing you can say? Do people bathe more in Vermont or New Jersey? What do black women think about Simon & Garfunkel? (Hint: they don’t think about Simon & Garfunkel.) Rudder also traces human migration over time, showing how groups of people move from certain small towns to the same big cities across the globe. And he grapples with the challenge of maintaining privacy in a world where these explorations are possible.
Visually arresting and full of wit and insight, Dataclysm is a new way of seeing ourselves—a brilliant alchemy, in which math is made human and numbers become the narrative of our time.”


FullSizeRender (35)

I really enjoy sociology and psychology. Matter of fact, I want to major in one of those topics in college. So I thought this was going to be a great read to expand my imagination and awareness. I was expecting a good amount of data, hence the title, and somewhat of a humorous text too. And I have to say, I wasn’t disappointed.

FullSizeRender (36)

This whole novel is set up in sections which I really enjoyed because they explored different topics surrounding relationships, love, online interactions, etc. The use of data in the novel was well-presented and understandable. It was a huge plus for me because I am someone who doesn’t like to read a whole lot of data processing. So having the graphs near the long paragraphs of text really did nicely chunk up the reading for me. They added a good amount of information as well, and they were in color! I thought that was really interesting & unique.

I also enjoyed that the text was relate-able because of the references to social media such as Twitter, Facebook, and dating sites. I don’t use dating sites, but I do use Twitter & Facebook. And the awareness Rudder brought to me about these sites was pretty incredible. I liked hearing a different perspective of the site, especially from the founder of OKCupid, Christian Rudder. I haven’t heard of that dating site before reading this novel, so while he did reference to the site a lot, I didn’t understand every single idea.

You may assume that this novel is set up sort of like a textbook, but it really isn’t. While it does have data & statistics, Rudder does a great job on keeping an informal & formal voice throughout the novel. It is nonfiction, and that tends to get a little boring. And I must admit at some parts I just skimmed the page. But a good portion of the novel was humorous and well-paced and that’s what kept me reading.

Overall I did like reading something I normally wouldn’t read. It was great to be able to read from a different perspective & gain further knowledge on the study of sociology and psychology. The entire premises was informative, yet engaging and that was really surprising. However like I mentioned above, at times it did get a little dreading and repetitive for me. It isn’t a novel I would pick up again, but it was a good one-time read.

rating

So what’s my rating?

I gave Christian Rudder’s, Dataclysm, a…

3.5 out of 5 stars

Let me know down below your thoughts, comments, or questions regarding this novel!

Thanks for reading…

coollogo_com-110561221

4 Comments

Filed under Book Review

Real Neat Blog Award!

Hello and happy Sunday! I was nominated by Michelle @ Mishi-Reads for the Real Neat Blog Award! So thank you so much — you are super neat 😉

The Rules:

1. Thank and link the blogger who nominated you.
2. Answer the 7 questions the nomination has provided.
3. Nominate 7 other bloggers.
4. Create 7 questions for your nominees.


Q & A’s

1. What is your favorite book from childhood?

I would have to say my favorite book from childhood is either The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein or any of Nancy Drew’s novels. Sorry, I couldn’t pick one. 😛

2. Would you consider joining Booktube?

If I had the patience and time to record and edit the videos, then sure!

3. Any festivals that you are planning on attending this or next year?

Not that I know of…I haven’t been to a festival in over a year, haha.

4. What young adult series is your all time favorite?

Hmm..considering I don’t read a lot of series, I don’t really have a favorite. But I do enjoy the Uglies series, even though I haven’t completed it…

5. What book character would you switch lives with?

I wouldn’t switch lives forever with this character, but in the novel I am currently reading, the main character, Lali, has the ability to astral project. And I think that would be really cool to experience.

6. Do you use a journal to write down your thoughts when reading?

I actually do not. I usually use Goodreads to document my progress & thoughts.

7. What is your favorite place to read?

Either in my bedroom or on my living room couch. Both are pretty comfortable places in which I enjoy.


 Here are the bloggers I nominate for this award:

And those are all my nominees! As always, I apologize in advance if you’ve already been nominated! But if you haven’t your blog is A-MAZING and I would love to see your posts! So, feel free to comment your links below when you complete this award.

Here are your questions:

  1. Can you read multiple books at a time? If so, how?? (I would like to learn myself, haha)
  2. Do you prefer reading indoors or outdoors?
  3. Can you listen to music while you read? If so, what do you listen to?
  4. What’s your favorite thing to post on your blog?
  5. What is one favorite book from one of your favorite genres?
  6. What are you craving right now?
  7. In your opinion, what’s one novel that has an amazing cover?

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time… ❤

coollogo_com-110561221

6 Comments

Filed under Awards