Daily Archives: November 8, 2015

Feature with Followers | #5

FullSizeRender (34)

Hello my lovely people! It is Feature with Followers time!!

Feature with Followers is a weekly meme posted by JBelkBooks (me) where I will be showcasing one of my AMAZING followers. This gives me an opportunity to really get to know them and give them an opportunity to get their blogs out there in the community. The way I choose my featured follower is Top Secret, so wait for your chance to be featured!

I am very excited to share this week’s FWF because I wanted to change things up a little…Instead of me featuring a single blogger, this time I am technically doing that, but there are TWO wonderful people taking on one single blog. They are super friendly and awesome, so let’s see some hints on who these two people could be:

  • The two people who own the blog are two different genders (one male, one female)
  • I just recently became friends with them on Goodreads
  • Their logo reminds me of the word ‘anecdote’.

Any guesses???


IMG_6842

collage

Lashaan & Trang @ Bookidote!!!

About Lashaan & Trang: Montreal, Canada based couple. Still in the middle of their university studies, Lashaan is an aspiring researcher and analyst in Criminology while Trang seeks to become a Neuropsychologist. Both 21, Lashaan is born in Montreal and wishes to rid the streets of Montreal of crime. A little like Batman does. Trang is born in Vietnam, raised for a couple years in France and moved to Montreal and wishes to discover one cure thanks to her own efforts for any neurodegenerative disease. Both lived a great part of their lives on different paths ( I learned that Mini Lashaan was a very competitive and straight-A kind of student in elementary and I told him that if we were on the same school we would probably fight for the who-got-the-best-grade spot LOL #sonerd ) until those very paths crossed in high school. One might believe they had completely different interests, but life had them realize that they had a lot more in common than the eyes could see. Research, books, cinema, they both indulge in common passions and share their lives as if they were the one and same person.

Ah, what a great biography! I love how they seem so distinct but they come together to create such uniqueness! And that collage of them is so adorable!!! (thanks for sending the photo, Trang) ❤

And now to the interview process…


ME: Why did you both start blogging in the first place? To express your thoughts? To get to know the book community?

TRANG: I started blogging two years ago when I had an interest in compiling my outfits of the day. I ended up being a fashion blogger afterwards. Later on, my boyfriend suggested me to do a book blog review in french because he saw potential in my french writing. I kept that idea in my head but never came got myself to execute it. It’s around July when I started to push my boyfriend to rekindle his love for books that I suggested we both cooperate and create our blog to share our thoughts about the books we read and have read. It’s always fun to share what we think about a book between each other, so it only occurred that sharing with other people might be just as fun, right ? Especially when there’s a bunch of amazing people out there with similar tastes as we do. That’s why we started Bookidote. 

ME: Since I have noticed you guys are a couple, do you individually prefer a certain genre? Or are you both interested in the same literature?

TRANG: We are both interested in Psychological Thrillers, Dystopia and Crime, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense novels. Up until now, I believe we love the same genres and that’s pretty cool since we can discuss the books we’ve both read together. I, for my part, love fantasy and chick-lits ahha. Don’t we all love a light read here and then? 😀 By the way, we also both love the comic universe. Our level of excitement in that realm is pretty intense these days too and there’s nothing like discovering amazing stories through a unique medium.

[Haha, I totally agree with Trang on reading light once in a while. I also love comics/graphic novels as well.]

ME: Besides reading and blogging, what else do you do with your spare time? 

TRANG: We both study huhhu ;( He’s however doing his internship at the moment, but soon enough he’ll end up being in the same boat as me, again. We also love watching TV shows together. Lashaan loves to play basketball on a weekly basis (it used to be daily, until books started to eat his time away). On my end, I love to dance in a studio. In fact, we go to the same sport center that’s part of our university, so while he’s dribbling away for fun and competition, I’m dancing away for fun and pleasure. 

[Studying 😦 But I think it’s great that you guys continue to stay active…I truly admire that.]

ME: Do you snack on something while you are reading? If so, what is it?

TRANG: Yes, I like to eat chips, candies, chocolate anything that I can find near my reading spot  LOL . He however doesn’t tend to make sure he has something to crunch on by his side while reading. Mostly because he wants to avoid leaving any nasty food marks on the beautiful books he reads. What a perfectionist.. ❤

[I am a mixture between Trang & Lashaan on this one. I like eating when reading, but I still want to maintain a beautiful book’s structure, haha]

ME: Since it is the month of November, if there’s one thing you both are thankful for the most, what would it be?

TRANG: I’m thankful for my family and friends who are still sticking by my side through the difficult times I’m living here and then. It’s true that during those times, you really see who are the people who truly care about you. One word of advice people, stay true to yourselves. My boyfriend is mostly thankful for me. This is pretty weird to type for him, so I’ll just quote him on it: “I’m eternally grateful for my girlfriends presence, love and smile in my life. There’s absolutely nothing that surpasses what she’s brought in my life. Happiness was redefined by her smile and it is the only thing I seek the most. She’s showed me what it is to have fun and be happy. Not to mention all the wonderful things that life has to offer despite time being a factor.” Yep, that’s him, being him. I love him. ❤

[Again, how can you not fall in love with them. This is the cutest thing I’ve ever read. Thanks, Lashaan & Trang..]


If their personalities and overall delightfulness isn’t enough to check out their blog, I would recommend checking it out anyways because you won’t regret it, honestly. They have an enormous amount of reviews available for readers, interviews, and a great list of awards (that they rightfully deserve).

IMG_7642 IMG_7641 IMG_7639 FullSizeRender (78)

Just from this interview, I am very aware that these two are amazing & kind people who are passionate about books (and each other). And you can share your love for books and blogging with them as well through some social media as well! Here are some links to their media — just click on the icon and it’ll take you straight to them!

instagramIcon_400x400

goodreads_icon_1000x1000-aed808dec2093e20867b35cd56d9862d

(Lashaan)

goodreads_icon_1000x1000-aed808dec2093e20867b35cd56d9862d

(Trang)

Thank you a bunch to both, Lashaan & Trang, again for taking the time to chat with me and share yourselves more with the blogging community. 

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time…

coollogo_com-110561221

7 Comments

Filed under Feature with Followers

Review | To Nowhere by C.E. Wilson

FullSizeRender (53)

Title: To Nowhere

Author: C.E. Wilson

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Page Count: 206

Format: Paperback

Publication: July 5th, 2015

Source: Sent in exchange for an honest review

“From the moment Lyris is treated to coffee by a beautiful stranger, she has no idea that her life is about to change forever. In her enthusiasm to start at a new school with a new boyfriend, Lyris is almost able to look past his oddities.
Almost.
The way he eyes up her striking red hair.
The way he loves that she’s seventeen. “The perfect age.”
And the way he’s gone from all but begging to show her a specific room in a specific house to making her swear never to even think about it again.
When Lyris doesn’t take his strange warnings seriously, she finds that nothing could have prepared her for what lay behind that door.
Suddenly, Lyris finds herself in a world no one would believe. A world where she’s only a few inches tall and giants aren’t creatures from fairy tales. Where humans are no longer the dominant race, but pets auctioned off to the highest bidder. Lyris understands the true danger of such a place, but there seems to be one person on her side.
Her kind and surprised captor.
And while Brindt appears to be sweet and trustworthy, he also straddles the line between seeing her as an equal and a cute animal.
Lyris has to get home… before the one person can turn to becomes the one person who can’t let her go.”


FullSizeRender (35)

When I was asked to review this novel, I was immediately drawn to the plot & premises. I haven’t read anything similar to something like this, therefore I was pretty excited to get to reading it. I also enjoyed the cover to an extent — it was quite mysterious-looking. I don’t read a lot of fantasy either, so it was great to be able to read something out of my comfort zone.

FullSizeRender (36)

So as you have read from the synopsis (hopefully), this novel is pretty…atypical. Giants? Wouldn’t you expect that to be in a children’s novel? I mean, the last time I read something about giants was probably Jack and the Bean Stalk. Yes, I thought this in the beginning, I must admit. But that thought was soon washed away as I proceeded to read.

At first you get this really unusual relationship between Lyris and her captor, Wyatt. Lyris has just moved to the area and Wyatt makes a conversation out of that in the coffee shop they meet at. He asks several questions about her; how old are you, what is your name, where do you live…All of the typical questions you may feel comfortable answering. But then things get weird when she feels odd emotions when she is with him. He tells her she is the “perfect age”…What does that mean? So the good first few chapters are about their encounters and ongoing relationship. Obviously in the event that they continue to meet and chat, the two begin to have feelings for each other (WRONG DECISION #1)or is it something more/totally different? This was the question that seemed to always rush through my head when reading the beginning. And eventually, that question is answered.

During this time in the novel, I found the main character, Lyris, to be a little naive and ignorant as to what she was getting involved in. She gets invited to this dark, mysterious house by Wyatt and she gladly agrees to join him (WRONG DECISION #2). Who in their right mind would do that?? And then the feelings between them are a little aggressive (not in the sexual way) and awkward. She is described as someone who is scared and worried about herself when she is with him. While you think she may just isolate herself from him, she still decides to associate with him (WRONG DECISION #3) So I did have some issues with that.

As the novel goes on, conflicting events happen — Lyris goes into the house by herself (when Wyatt told her not to) (WRONG DECISION #4) and goes upstairs to the bedroom that Wyatt was going to take her to. She enters a childlike room (comics, books, desk, etc.) and starts to laugh at herself for thinking this room had something creepy/important in it. As she continues to look around, she hears a noise behind a blue-lit door. Of course, she thinks this is Wyatt playing a trick on her, so she goes for the door and things happen. She finds herself in a world of giants — what fun.

This leads to a character that I actually did enjoy — Brindt. Brindt is the giant that Lyris gains a connection/relationship with during the second half of the novel. He is an unique & interesting character who created a new point of view. I enjoyed hearing about him and how he was so diverse compared to Lyris. Things between Lyris and Brindt were obviously problematic when she first arrived in that world, but she does begin to actually talk and adjust to Brindt. And that was a great part in the novel that I probably liked the most.

I am not going to go into huge depth for the last part of the novel because I do not want to spoil much for those that are interested in the novel. But I will say the ending left me with my mouth wide open. I was not expecting an ending like that...So yes, I think it was a rather exceptional closing.

Overall I did enjoy this novel to an extent. It was a different & somewhat quick fantasy read. The dialogue really helped the pacing of the novel, so that was great. The characters were individually diverse, even if they weren’t completely likable. And the overall consensus and plot was what really kept me reading until the end.

rating

So what’s my rating?

I gave C.E. Wilson’s, To Nowhere, a…

3.5 out of 5 stars

Let me know down below your thoughts, comments, or questions regarding this novel!

Thanks for reading…(and thank you to C.E. Wilson for giving me the opportunity to read & review her novel)

coollogo_com-110561221

 

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review