Review | Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolor Set

FullSizeRender (28)

Hello and Happy Tuesday! 

Normally I would be posting my Top Ten Tuesday today, but I had a request asking if I could review my recently hauled art supplies. And I thought, hey, why not? I haven’t reviewed anything art supply related before on this blog, but I am willing to start if people are interested. With that being said, let me know how you feel about these types of posts down below!

Anyways, as I explained in my haul I purchased a quite expensive set of watercolors: the Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolor Pan SetI wasn’t going in to the art materials store planning to spend $70+ on watercolors, but my mom insisted (I swear). I’ve actually been wanting this set for a long time, but haven’t bought them because of their price. But now I am very pleased that I own them now.

FullSizeRender (29) IMG_7271

Before I start using my art materials (specifically paints or watercolors), I usually test them out a little and create a sheet of all the colors given. Therefore down below you can see how the watercolors appear on paper:

IMG_7311

Of course this isn’t the best way for you to actually experience how they appear, but you get the idea. They are very vibrant and easy to use. I liked that you didn’t have to continuously keep picking up pigment because just one brush-full was enough to paint the entire square. I also enjoyed the consistency of the paints; they weren’t too smooth or too rough.

The condition of the paints when I first opened them were great. As you can see above, the wrappings that I glued under each square came from the individual boxes of color. Each color was covered nicely with the color label and such, along with another clear covering underneath. Another nice aspect about the individual colors were that if you take the color out of the pan, the surrounding holder is labeled. Therefore you know what color you are using if you are unlike me who decides to create their own color scale. Also, the structure of the set is useful because they provide you an area to mix your paints.

IMG_7307

And if you guys are interested in what water brushes I used, they are also included in my haul. I wanted to test out my new Niji Waterbrush and I have to say I really like it. I bought size medium and size small but I only used the medium for this project. If you don’t know what the Niji Waterbrush is, it is basically a compact brush that allows you to store water INSIDE the brush. Awesome right? You can see more information on the brush here.

IMG_7309 IMG_7310

So overall I am pleased with my purchases. They are very unique and I plan on using these materials more often. The Winsor and Newton Cotman Watercolors was probably my most anticipated purchase, and it did live up to my standards.

5-stars

Let me know down below if you have any questions or commnents!

If you are interested and want to purchase these items, you can get them from DickBlick.com. (that’s where I got mine)

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time…

coollogo_com-110561221

1 Comment

Filed under Art Supply Review

One response to “Review | Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolor Set

  1. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | October | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

Leave a Reply

