Review | In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang

IMG_7166

Title: In Real Life

Author/Illustrator: Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang

Genre: Gaming, Fantasy, Graphic Novel

Page Count: 175

Format: Paperback

Publication: October 14th, 2014

Source: Purchased

“Anda loves Coarsegold Online, the massively-multiplayer role-playing game where she spends most of her free time. It’s a place where she can be a leader, a fighter, a hero. It’s a place where she can meet people from all over the world, and make friends.

But things become a lot more complicated when Anda befriends a gold farmer–a poor Chinese kid whose avatar in the game illegally collects valuable objects and then sells them to players from developed countries with money to burn. This behavior is strictly against the rules in Coarsegold, but Anda soon comes to realize that questions of right and wrong are a lot less straightforward when a real person’s real livelihood is at stake.

From acclaimed teen author (Little Brother, For the Win) and Boing Boing editor Cory Doctorow and Koko Be Good creator Jen Wang, In Real Life is a perceptive and high-stakes look at adolescence, gaming, poverty, and culture clash.”


FullSizeRender (35)

I must say that this is my first graphic novel experience. This GN was always mentioned throughout Booktube and in the blogging community, so I had to make this one my first pick. I did know the gist of the novel, so I wasn’t too surprised when it came to the plot. But this novel did not disappoint…

FullSizeRender (36)

Let’s start with the one of the many things that make this GN a great read: the illustration style. I loved, loved, loved the detail and color schemes used throughout this entire book. It almost looked as if it was detailed with watercolor, and if so I am even more in love because I love watercolor paints.

FullSizeRender (55) FullSizeRender (56)

I also enjoyed the realistic factor of the novel. The fact that the author decided to include the perspective of culture and poverty was a great way for readers and young adults to become aware of these world issues. It wasn’t completely explained, but the gist of it was thoroughly present.

The variety of characters was also a plus. The first thing that caught my eye when beginning this novel (besides the illustrations), were the structure of the characters. Take Anda for example: she is not the perfect model shown on the front of Vogue magazine (although she should be). She is realistically like most people in the world, and I really appreciated that aspect.

irl-10

Other characters had their own twist and uniqueness, and I thought that was very awesome for the author to include.

Overall I really did enjoy this graphic novel. It was everything I was expecting; quick read, amazing graphics, unique plot, etc. Although I cannot compare it to another graphic novel, I will say this novel did reach the hype level it was given. This was a successful read, and I am eager to read more of these author’s/illustrator’s works (So if you have any recommendations, I would be more than grateful).

rating

So what’s my rating?

If it wasn’t obvious already, I gave Cory Doctorow’s & Jen Wang’g GN, In Real Life, a grand…

5-stars

5 out of 5 stars

Let me know down below your thoughts, comments, or questions regarding this novel! And like I mentioned above, I am completely open to any suggestions in the graphic novel genre!

Thanks for reading…

coollogo_com-110561221

9 Comments

Filed under Book Review

9 responses to “Review | In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang

  1. Woow, the illustrations look really cool! 😉 I’d never read a GN either, so maybe I’ve to start with this one 😀 Amazing review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! Glad you read and loved it. This is my favorite graphic novel 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | October | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

  4. Been wanting to read this for ages (like most books) too so I think I just bumped it up my list a bit! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: October Book/Art Wrap-Up | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

  6. Pingback: October Book/Art Wrap-Up | -- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

Leave a Reply

