Top Ten Tuesday [#7]

FullSizeRender (22)

I wanted to start this week off good, so I couldn’t forget to post this month’s first Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will post a new Top Ten List. This list includes a variety of topics such as ‘my top ten favorite authors’ or ‘my top ten books of the month’. The topics will change, so make sure you stay tuned for each week!

This week’s topic is…

FullSizeRender (51)

I don’t think I have a full ten, but I do know that I have at least four. Notice that I said “should”…I want to quit these habits, but at the same time these things are what make me, me. And I also enjoy some of this stuff, but it’s something I want to lessen for the benefit of myself.

Here are those five things:

1. Reading in my comfort zone. When I say this I am referring to reading the same genres. If an individual were to walk into my bedroom and take a look at the novels on my bookshelf, they would notice that they are mostly Contemporary or Young Adult. Confession: I love Contemporary and YA.

image

However I want to broaden my horizons and possibly get into more genres such as Fantasy and Thriller. Don’t get me wrong, I do own a few Fantasy, Thrillers, and Sci-Fi’s, but those wouldn’t be my first pick in a book store. I always hear a lot of great reviews and comments about numerous of those types of novels, but I am always hesitant to go out and purchase a novel not in my comfort zone. Therefore, I want to possibly lessen that hesitation, and read more of different genres.

2. Buying so many books, adding to my TBR and excitement. I know most people take this situation pridefully, and so do I. I love buying books and I love the feeling I get when seeing my bookshelf gradually filling up. But honestly, books are expensive. Especially graphic novels (which I am trying to get into) and hardcovers. And I enjoy me some hardcover books. And I know there are solutions to this problem: read on a Kindle! Go to the library! Purchase used books! Yeah, yeah, I know. But I don’t like reading on electronic devices, I never “borrow” books, and I like most of my books to be shiny and beautiful (Picky person, sorry). So of course my choices are slim when receiving books. Therefore I would like to decrease my habits on buying books when my TBR pile is so freakin’ huge.

3. Buying a bunch of bookmarks simply because they are cute. I have a ton of bookmarks — they are so, so adorable and I love how creative they can get. Do I REALLY need all those bookmarks?? Of course not. And to top that ice cream sundae, I often lose my bookmarks.

58617019

But don’t worry, eventually they will turn up..? 😛


Okay, I lied. Not four, just three. I thought I had one more but at the moment I don’t recall it. But anyways, those are my three habits that I SHOULD quit! Will I? Maybe, maybe not. But I definitely am trying to change my reading habits and such.

Thanks for reading and if you have any bookish habits you think YOU should quit yourself, don’t be shy. Feel free to comment yours below! 🙂

P.S. Don’t forget I need your help! I am holding a poll this entire week that will help me decide how I will be reorganizing my bookshelf. But I need your guys’ feedback! Please take a quick minute to vote on my poll — it would be greatly appreciated! Here’s the link the post holding the poll:

POLL: HOW SHOULD I ORGANIZE MY BOOKSHELF?

coollogo_com-110561221

1 Comment

Filed under Top10T

One response to “Top Ten Tuesday [#7]

  1. Pingback: Bi-Weekly Wrap-Up | October | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

Leave a Reply

