Review | The Secrets of Yashire: Emerging from the Shadows by Diamante Lavender

IMG_6090

Title: The Secrets of Yashire: Emerging from the Shadows

Author: Diamante Lavender

Genre: Young-Adult Fantasy

Page Count: 162

Format: Paperback

Publication: January 9th, 2014

Source: Sent in exchange for an honest review.

“The Secrets of Yashire: Emerging From the Shadows is a young adult fantasy adventure that occurs within the framework of a young girl’s subconscious mind. The main character, Brianna, finds herself thrown into a world called Yashire where she is forced to deal with circumstances that are threatening Yashire’s existence. Against her will, she is sent on a journey to restore unconditional love back to the land while also contending with the evil force in the land, Zolan. Brianna is sent on her mission by Libban, Keeper of the Land. Along the way, Brianna travels with the mystical tiger, Angelos; a huge, whitish-tan tiger with thick black stripes who sings only the purest songs of love, and the wondrous little one-eyed bird named Abiba. During the journey, Brianna is also preparing to meet her soulmate-the one she longs to be with and the one who will bring complete healing back into her life. Together they travel through fantastic lands filled with magical creatures that could only exist in the wildest of imaginations. Through her treacherous brushes with danger and heartwarming experiences of love and acceptance, Brianna discovers many things. It is here, amidst the powers and phantasms of the mind that Brianna receives life lessons and virtues to help her. Will one of her greatest triumphs be achieved as she learns to believe in herself? For only then can she truly see all of the wondrous things that life has to offer.”


*Before I get into the review process, I must say the cover of this novel is great. I enjoyed the whimsical aspect of the cover and it suited the entirety of the book. When Diamante Lavender contacted me to review her novel, she was kind enough to send me a physical paperback. So thank you again, Diamante!

Onto the review…

FullSizeRender (35)

When I first was informed about this novel, I thought a few things. 

  1. “Hey, nice cover!”
  2. “Fantasy…hmm. I don’t read much fantasy but it doesn’t hurt to start trying…?”

I knew what the novel was about and I must say I found it interesting. I don’t read a lot of fantasy books so I was a little worried that I wouldn’t be able to suite the novel’s standards. But this leads into my overall review…

FullSizeRender (36)

Once I received it in the mail, I started to read it maybe two days later — I was still reading another novel before that and I wanted to complete that novel first. The first few chapters were easily engaging and I enjoyed the realistic structure that the author uses. The main character, Brianna, was relateable in some ways as well; her issues with school, her family, etc. And the other characters such as Abiba and Angelos were great additions to the novel; they helped me continue to be engaged overall because of their humorous and unique personalities.

Before Brianna is magically transported to Yashire, the exact way she happened to get there was a little strange. She literally gets hit by a car in the realistic world and BAM. She is in Yashire (kind of weird in my opinion). But anyways, when Brianna gets sent to Yashire, she is lost and doesn’t know where she is or why she is there. She meets Libban, the Keeper of the Land, and she kind of educates her on that information. Brianna is told that she is being sent on a mission to save the land of Yashire before Zolan, the evil force, spreads his negativity and destroys their living space. Along the way she meets Abiba and Angelos who are sent to Brianna to help her along her journey. This part of the novel is probably the most interesting part — it started to get a little repetitive and tiresome when I got into the middle of the novel. This is because during that time, she kept repeating events over and over. For example, in the beginning the events were new; she met magical creatures, one by one, who provided her with lessons and virtues to help her complete the quest. But once she met maybe the third creature, I got a little annoyed because it was the same concept Honestly, it partially reminded me of the Three Little Pigs or Goldilocks and the Three Bears for some reason. I guess the repetition aspect is what sparked that thought. However, I liked how each creature had something true to provide to Brianna, which suited my realistic likings.

Now the end is what really made me enjoy this book. I won’t say what it is (obviously) in case some of my readers were planning on reading it themselves. But I will say that it was an unexpected ‘ending’ and I was in awe because of it. This was practically me:

wait-what

ratingSo, what’s my rating?

I would say as a whole this novel was adequate and sufficient. I don’t think it is appropriate for me to give a full, in depth response to this novel because I am a reader who isn’t experienced with fantasy novels. However, I gave Lavender’s The Secrets of Yashire: Emerging from the Shadows a…

3_5-star-rating

3.5 out of 5 stars

It was a quick, easy read and like I mentioned, there are some positive and negative aspects of this novel. But I am very grateful for the opportunity Lavender gave me to read and review her novel.

Have you read this book? Do you plan on reading it? Have any questions? Comment below and I’ll be sure to get to you!

Thanks for reading…

coollogo_com-110561221

3 Comments

Filed under Book Review

3 responses to “Review | The Secrets of Yashire: Emerging from the Shadows by Diamante Lavender

  1. Pingback: August Book Wrap-Up | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

  2. Thanks for taking the time to read The Secrets Of Yashire! I do appreciate your input!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

