Top Ten Tuesday [#3]

FullSizeRender (22)

Good evening (or night…or morning..) and welcome to this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! 

Yes, I finally have some time to post this Tuesday! I am usually way too busy to post, but I have a few minutes to spare. So I decided, heck, let’s do a quick Top Top Tuesday!

If you are not aware, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will post a new Top Ten List. This list includes a variety of topics such as ‘my top ten favorite authors’ or ‘my top ten books of the month’. The topics will change, so make sure you stay tuned for each week! If you haven’t checked out my previous Top Ten Tuesday, feel free to view it here!

As always, I am more than happy to view your guys’ Top Ten lists, so make sure to comment your links below!


This week’s topic is…

FullSizeRender (16)

I actually don’t think there are that many characters in novels that I read so far that I just didn’t ‘click with’. I tend to always have SOME type of connection with the main character or minor characters. But I have thought of a few…

  1. Trina from the Kill Order by James Dashner (Prequel to the Maze Runner series). For some reason throughout the whole book I didn’t like the idea of her and Mark having any sort of relationship. Especially during the end of the novel because I was SO confused as to what she was feeling emotionally towards Mark…Overall she gave me an emotional roller coaster ride and to this day I just don’t ‘click with her’.
  2. Elizabeth from Distant Shores by Kristin Hannah. Firstly I must say that I didn’t even complete this novel. And it was mainly because I didn’t have any connection with this woman that is portrayed in the novel. She is a grown woman who has to create her own life while her husband is deep into his work, traveling across the world. While the concept of the novel intrigued me, I just couldn’t find myself to continue with it because of my lack of experience with what the main character was constantly describing. Therefore I did not ‘click with her’ as well.
  3. Cadence Sinclair Eastman from We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. This is yet another novel that I did not complete. I plan of finishing it in the near future, but I had other novels that caught my eye during this reading session, so I decided to put this novel down for the time being. But when I was reading what I did, the relationship between Cadence and I weren’t, let’s just say…”grand“. I didn’t really understand the first 15-ish pages and like I said in the previous novels, I didn’t have a complete connection. I did hear from numerous of people that the novel gets better and it’s actually a pretty good book. So, who knows. This opinion may change!

So, at the moment that is all the characters I can think of. Like I said before, I usually have some form of connection with major or minor characters; whether it be our personalities or our interests in traveling. But the characters I listed above just didn’t ‘click with me’.

Feel free to state your opinions below in the comments! Stay tuned for tomorrow’s Which Cover Wednesday and an update from me!

Thanks for reading…

coollogo_com-110561221

4 Comments

Filed under Top10T

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday [#3]

  1. Out of these I have only read We Were Liars and I didn’t really get that book either. I finished it and there is a big twist which I was impressed with but everything else just didn’t mesh well with me. I haven’t read anything by Kristin Hannah yet but I hear mostly good things about her books, although I may avoid that one haha

    Like

    • j.belk

      Well, I am looking forward to finishing We Were Liars eventually! Also, I may end up giving Kristin Hannah another try; who knows, maybe it was just that one novel…?

      Thanks for your input, by the way! It is greatly appreciated! (:

      -Jesalin @jbelkbooks

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Blog Update! | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday [#4] | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

Leave a Reply

