Top Ten Tuesday [#1]

FullSizeRender (22)

Hello & welcome to today’s Top Ten Tuesday!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will post a new Top Ten List. This list includes a variety of topics such as ‘my top ten favorite authors’ or ‘my top ten books of the month’. The topics will change, so make sure you stay tuned for each week!

Feel free to comment or link your Top Ten Tuesday lists below and I’ll be more than happy to check them out!


This week’s topic is…

FullSizeRender (23)

AUTHOR NICHOLAS SPARKSAuthor: Nicholas Sparks

I am a big fan of Nicholas Sparks & he is definitely on my Top 5 list of favorite authors. Whenever I am in the mood for great romance, I go straight to his novels. The plot & characters in the books I have read were well chosen and I enjoyed them very much. So far, I have read: The Notebook, Safe Haven, , Dear John, The Rescue, & A Bend in the Road. I have seen the films for A Walk to Remember & The Last Song, along with other films. All of the books I’ve read, I’ve given 4+ stars to & I definitely recommend his novels to anyone looking for a great love story with unique twists.

1406384

Author: John Green

I am sure most people know who John Green is. I’ve read many novels by him including: Paper Towns, The Fault in Our Stars, Looking for Alaska, and An Abundance of Katherines. Of course, I have read books that he collaborated with other people on. These books are: Will Grayson, Will Grayson (Collaboration with David Levithan) and Let it Snow (Collaboration with Maureen Johnson & Lauren Myracle). I absolutely adore Green’s writing style; it is very humorous but also creative. His choice of tone and characters in his novels are relatable, and that’s what I enjoy in most books. In my experience, he creates a connection with the reader and to me, that is very essential when reading. If you haven’t read at least one of his books, you should take the opportunity to and let me know what you think.

file10184 Author: Lemony Snicket 

Honestly, before a few months ago I thought Lemony Snicket was a female. And I am still so amazed that it is not.

Anyways, Snicket is one of my childhood authors. With the whole box set of the Series of Unfortunate Events on hand, I’ve read all (13) of those wonderful books. It did take a good long time to read them, but they were worth the read. I am also very excited for the Series of Unfortunate Events series to come out on Netflix!

benson

Author: Carolyn Keene

Oh, Carolyn Keene. This wonderful woman is another one of my childhood authors. I have read a ton of her Nancy Drew series including: The Hidden Staircase, The Secret of Shadow Ranch, The Secret in the Old Attic, & The Bungalow Mystery. These books actually scared me when I was younger, but they were so interesting and nail-biting that I continued to read them. It wasn’t until I entered middle school that I discontinued reading them. I am planning to purchase & read more of her novels in the future.

JamesDashner-creditMariaWoodAuthor: James Dashner

James Dashner…I am not really sure how I feel about him. The only novels I have read by him are the Maze Runner series. Yes, I did somewhat enjoy the series. But the quality and plot of a few books in the series were a little less enjoyable. I like the mood that he provides for the readers, but the overall series was..’eh’. I have yet to view The Maze Runner film, so hopefully that’ll be as good as the novel. Overall, I think I may read another novel by him, just to have a concluding opinion about his books.

Well, that is all for my Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most From. I tend to read a variety of authors unless I absolutely love the author. Therefore I was only able to list 5 authors. I do plan on reading more from most of these authors as well.

I’ve decided to add a list of other authors that I want to read more from, so if you are interested in that list read more! (:

I have recently discovered other authors that I have an interest in. So, I plan on reading more of their works in the future. Here is that list:

  • Jennifer Brown
  • Gillian Flynn
  • Jodi Picoult
  • Jay Asher
  • Jesse Andrews
  • Gayle Forman
  • Scott Westerfeld
  • Sarah Dessen
  • Lauren Myracle
  • Maureen Johnson
  • David Levithan
  • Barry Lyga
  • Rainbow Rowell
  • Lauren Oliver
  • Colleen Hoover
  • Stephanie Perkins
  • Marissa Meyer

This list could probably go on and on, but these are the ones I could think of. Let me know your opinions of these authors below!

Thanks for reading!

yours truly,

{j.belk}

8 Comments

Filed under Top10T

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday [#1]

  1. Yes, love Colleen Hoover, Stephanie Perkins, and Marissa Meyer! All in my top 7ish authors. I’ve never read any Nicholas Sparks but I want to read one soon, they seem like perfect beach reads. Any recs?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Rainbow Rowell! Have read all her books except Landline, which I plan on doing soon! Can’t wait for her next book, Carry On. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think my most read author would be Richelle Mead, although Lemony Snicket makes the list simply because of his Unfortunate Events series, like you mentioned. My mom read and loved everything by Carolyn Keene as well, but I’ve yet to read anything by her-need to change that!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday [#2] | Life : books, the arts, and nature.

Leave a Reply

