Review: Safe Haven

Safe Haven

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Romantic Suspense Fiction

*Note: This is a review therefore there may be spoilers. Read at your own risk.

IMG_5877

Synopsis: 

Love hurts. There is nothing as painful as heartbreak. But in order to learn to love again, you must learn to trust again.
When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family. But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her . . . a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo’s emphatic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards . . . and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven.

.

Note: I read this novel maybe a year ago, but I just now decided to write a review. However, everything from the book is still clear in my mind considering I’ve seen the film a few times and I’ve read the book.

Opinions


Film vs. Novel 

The film was closely similar to the novel. The details were present in the film and nothing seemed out of place. I enjoyed the film just as much as I enjoyed the novel, so that was great.

Daryl-GIFs-12

Novel Overall

I am a huge Nicholas Spark’s fan. I enjoy all of his novels, even if most of them have to do with romance. Whenever I am looking for a romance, I always go straight to Sparks because I love his writing style and choice of characters. Therefore, you can assume that I enjoyed Safe Haven. Safe Haven is in my Top 5 favorites of Nicholas Sparks’ books. The plot of the whole story was very well executed and was interesting to read. The suspense throughout the novel was great and the characters all had an impact in the story. I especially loved Alex’s children because they were so cute and kind of lightened the situations. I also liked the aspect of Jo. At first we think that Jo is just some neighbor of Katie’s, but then as the novel proceeds we learn that she is actually the wife of Alex that passed away. And I think that really tied together the novel and gave it a unique twist. I was a little confused when this information came out, but then once I understood it, I had an ‘oh’ moment…

download (4)

which felt really nice.


Closing

Overall this novel was a wonderful read. Like I said previously, the different aspects of the novel all came together and it was very intriguing. I love Nicholas Sparks, so it is kind of hard to not love his books. I give Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks  a 4.9 out of 5 Stars. The other .1 was taken away because I felt there was something missing towards the end but I couldn’t really figure it out. That might sound foolish, but that’s just how I feel. I recommend this novel to anyone that is in a lovey-dovey feeling or just wants a suspenseful read with a twist.

As always, I would love to know what you think about this novel. So feel free to comment below! (:

yours truly,

{j.belk}

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

