Review: The Giver

The Giver

Author: Lois Lowry

Science Fiction, Dystopian Fiction

*Note: This is a review therefore there may be spoilers. Read at your own risk.

FullSizeRender (20)

To start with, I am going to compare the film & the novel. In my opinion, I didn’t really enjoy the film as much as the novel. The film left out a few things & it didn’t provide me the same feelings that the novel did. I found the novel to have more detail and explanation that I enjoyed. But, the film was worth the watch and I did like that the film was in black and white, keeping the ‘dystopian’ feeling.

Now the book I really liked. It was a little slow at times, but that was okay. I liked the overall plot of the novel; it was unique and nothing like I’ve read before. I didn’t feel that much of a connection towards the characters but they were likable and distinct.

The ending of the novel was what really hooked me on the book. You may be thinking, “Jesalin, how could you be hooked at the END of the book?” Well, you’d have to know about the ending to understand. Just know that the ending is a BIG, BIG, BIG cliff hanger and it left so many questions and possibilities. After finishing the novel I immediately got on the Internet and researched why that was the ending. Honestly, I thought I was missing pages in my book. But turns out I wasn’t and the author, Lois Lowry, decided to leave the ending unanswered for the readers to come up with their own. I guess you could say I would’ve liked an answer to the ending, but the unanswered ending kind of adds something to the overall novel. So, I am partially in a dilemma.

All in all this novel was interesting and I thought it was a very unique read. I give this book a 4 out of 5 Stars & I recommend it to anyone that is in the mood for  science-dystopian fiction.

As always, feel free to comment YOUR opinions or questions. Thanks for reading. (:

yours truly,

{j.belk}

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “Review: The Giver

  1. The Giver and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn are two classic-ish YA books that I feel like I must read. For some people, ATGIB is their all-time favorite book. I don’t think I’ve run across anyone who says that about The Giver.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Giver was a good novel overall, but I haven’t read anything else in the Giver Quartet yet. I felt obligated to read the Giver before I watched the film. And also, a lot of people in the bookish community have read it so I thought why not, haha.
      I actually have never heard of ATGIB before, so I may have to check it out..

      -Jess @jbelkbooks

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

