Review: Gone Girl

Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Thriller, Mystery Novel

*Note: This is a review so please be aware that there may be spoilers. Read at your own leisure.

FullSizeRender (18)

This book….

I don’t even know what to say. This is probably the most suspenseful & aggravating novel I have ever read. Firstly, when I purchased this book I was at Walmart. I had no idea it was going to be made so big in the book community. I knew what the book was about, I found it intriguing, so I picked it up. I didn’t start reading the book right away because I was already in the middle of another book. But geez… once I started reading the book it was very hard to put down. It was literally one thing after another with this book and the suspense and thrill was constant throughout.

It’s you and your wife’s anniversary, she disappears that day (you thinking she’s been abducted), & you get help but then everyone eventually turns on you because your the husband and you have SO many secrets and don’t know enough about your wife. Now that is crazy.

It is very hard to put this book in a review for me, therefore I am just going to list my thoughts about it:

  1. NICK I’M SO SORRY! I WISH YOU COULD JUST TAKE THE BABY AND RUN!!!!
  2. Amy is a psycho for MANY reasons.
  3. Poor Desi. Tried to ‘help’ but ended up dead.
  4. Margo & Nick’s relationship was great.
  5. Greta & the other guy: didn’t expect what they did to Amy.
  6. When I read about the part when Amy comes back to Nick my face was like this:

What+face+_78d9aaf81a6f9b7902ca1ee371b90428 little-face-mitt-romney kattwilliams

Honestly I could go on and on about this book. But what I haven’t talked about is the comparison between the film and the novel.

I enjoyed the novel better than the film. Maybe because I already knew what was going to happen in the film? But the thrill wasn’t the same for me and I didn’t feel as emotional as I did when I read the book. I do know some people that found the film to be great, but those were mainly people that ONLY saw the movie. However, the film did follow the book nicely, so that was a plus.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a heart racing suspense novel. I give this book at 5 out of 5 Stars. It was the best thriller novel I have ever read so far and it was a great read.

yours truly,

{j.belk}

3 Comments

Filed under Book Review

3 responses to “Review: Gone Girl

  1. I saw the film first and still have yet to read the book, but my reactions to the film are pretty similar to your reactions about the book! I really liked not knowing exactly what was going on at first, trying to think of all the possibilities. Nice review!

    Alise @ Readers in Wonderland

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 2015 Blog Mini-Survey! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful--

Leave a Reply

