Review: The Kill Order (Prequel)

The Kill Order (Prequel to the Maze Runner trilogy)

Author: James Dashner

Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Post-Apocalyptic Dystopian Fiction

*Note: This is a review therefore there will possibly be spoilers. Read at your own risk.

FullSizeRender (10)

As I’ve stated, this book is the prequel to the Maze Runner series (Click HERE for that review).

Before I decided to read The Kill Order, of course I checked Goodreads to see if the book was worth reading. Basically I didn’t see anyone rate the book any higher than about 3.5 stars. But, me being me, I decided, heck, let’s try it out for myself and create my own opinion. So…I read it. Well technically I only read about half of the book. The other half of the book I listened to on Audiobook.

Overall this book was what I expected. People on Goodreads said it didn’t even solve any issues or questions that arrived in the series. And I agree. It was a little slow and every few pages there was a fighting scene that ended with the same result; Mark and/or Alec being beaten to an extent or them beating up someone else (killing them or injuring them). Also, I didn’t really gain a connection to any of the characters. The only character I somewhat had a connection to was Alec. Yes, I did feel some type of emotion when Deedee escaped into the Trans Flat, when they abandoned Misty & The Toad, & at the end where Trina “remembers” Mark. But I mean, that’s being human.

Although there were many dislikes, I did enjoy a few things about the book. First, I liked the idea of including the Epilogue. The Epilogue was probably the best part of the book, along with the “TOP-SECRET” section of the book. It tied together the book nicely

My name was Deedee before I came here,” she began.

and I enjoyed reading about the VERY beginning of the world changing. The Kill Order did provide me with further information about the beginning, but I think if The Kill Order was actually about the Gladers then that would suit my entertainment more. I do understand why it wasn’t about the Gladers though. I suppose Dashner wanted to give us another POV or he was just dependent on the Epilogue to kind of explain everyone’s POV.

All in all, this book was an average read. I rate this book 3.8 out of 5 Stars. I don’t recommend this book to anyone who was planning to get loads of explanation about the trilogy. But if you are just looking for an action-pack & new POV book, then I guess you could read it. Also, I do recommend the Audiobook if you aren’t sure if you want to read it through.

Watch the book trailer HERE!

yours truly,

{j.belk}

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

One response to “Review: The Kill Order (Prequel)

  1. Pingback: 2015 Blog Mini-Survey! | ---Blogging Everything Beautiful--

Leave a Reply

