Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman


Title: Where She Went

Author: Gayle Forman

Genre: Coming-of-Age Fiction

FullSizeRender (28)

warning-stampThis is a sequel to the novel, If I Stay, therefore there will be spoilers. Read at your own risk.


Synopsis from Goodreads: 

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

My Thoughts:

I think I should probably start with how I felt about the first book in the sequel, If I Stay. If I Stay was an interesting read overall. I read the book before the movie was made, and I can say that the novel was something like I’ve never before.The whole concept of her getting to choose whether she should stay or go was what really kept me engaged in the novel. Also the aspect of it being in her point of view and how she was kind of a ghost during the novel was intriguing to read.

Now, for Where She Went I was a little disinterested through some parts. I did enjoy the novel, don’t get me wrong. But I don’t think I liked this sequel as much because it was in Adam’s POV and he was older and let’s just say, “wilder”. It was great to be able to read in Adam’s POV, but he pretty much kept repeating the same obstacles over and over again; missing Mia, partying, performing, etc. And that went on for maybe the first 50 pages of the book. However, I felt so many things towards Adam; despair, anger, sadness, etc.

I didn’t officially get re-engaged until him and Mia meet again in New York. Then things start to get interesting and my mind was literally going back and forth, thinking about whether or not Adam and Mia were going to get back together.

The ending of this novel is what really got me. My heart and mind were like:

tumblr_inline_nmpcxgiwo71sfbyel_500

and I literally had to drop the book maybe five times so I could pull myself together. I fell SO hard for this couple and Forman just has this way with words that made me feel so many emotions at once. THEY GET BACK TOGETHER. YES, THEY DO!!!!! Now some people may say that the way they get back together is “cheesy”, but I am all about the “cheesiness” so I had no problem with it. I am a sucker for romance and this novel just had be hooked. I cannot even explain how I felt about the ending because it was just so heartwarming!

8122114

Overall I am planning to read more of Forman’s works. I love her writing style and her choice of characters and character development.

I gave Where She Went by Gayle Forman a:

4-star-rating

Let me know down below your thoughts on this novel and if you have any recommendations of Forman’s works, PLEASE leave a comment! (:

Thanks for reading!

coollogo_com-110561221

\

3 Comments

Filed under Book Review

3 responses to “Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman

  1. Loved the review….I felt the same way about Adam until the ending and then I was just in love all over again.
    I recommend reading Just One Day…it’s one of my all time favorites by her & it will make you feel all of the feelings at once. There’s a sequel too (Just One Year) and it is just as amazing!!! It’s all about adventure in Europe & finding yourself & first love…a great book! Hope you enjoy it, happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment